Someday…

Wistfulness.  How easily it turns into discontentment!!

This morning, Fiala was sick (the first time in eight weeks, which is the longest I can ever remember her going without getting sick, bless God!!!), so I stayed home from church with both the little girls.  We spent most of the morning in the girls’ room, reading books.  One of them was my all-time favorite picture book, Blueberries for Sal.

Inspired by the book, I looked up its author, Robert McCloskey on Wikipedia.  It mentioned that Blueberries was set on Scott Island, Maine, where McCloskey had a summer home.  So, I looked up Scott Island.

Turns out it’s only 15 or so miles off the southwest coast of Mount Desert Island, which was the setting of one of my very most favorite young adult books, Calico Bush.  (On top of it being an extremely compelling story, Rachel Field, perhaps even better known as a poet, writes incomparably achingly beautiful prose.)

I find that very interesting:  Unbeknownst to me, two of my dearest favorite books are set within a few miles of each other!

I quickly found out that part of Mount Desert Island is a national park:  Acadia National Park.  So, of course, I clicked on some links to explore Acadia NP.  Now, I want to go there.  But, I guess you can add it to the list of hundreds and hundreds of places that I’d really like to go, and the overwhelmingness of that threatens to make me sad.

~sigh~

Doesn’t it just beckon, though??

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 28, 2010, in Books for children, The Kids, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. ok, sold. i want to go there now too. gorgeous!

  2. That is the most charming little path! And quiet…how I long for quiet! (the 4 kiddos 6 and under in the middle of winter get a little…um…taxing…)

  3. Many friends got to Acadia yearly to camp in the summer. I have yet to hear a single complaint about it. And, it IS just as amazingly breathtaking as the pictures you found depict. Aaah, I love the Northeast and am glad to have settled here after leaving the West.

  4. Karen, Bruce and I have been there twice now. It is beautiful – Arcadia is almost “raw” in its beauty. We have been there in the summer, and in the fall. The fall is amazing. But, I guarantee that if you moved there, there would be things about Arizona you would miss. I surely did love the beauty there – but the culture is so different that there would surely be “culture shock” to go through. The winters are brutal. There are no churches there such as ours. And, for some reason, I had a “lonely feeling” both times I was there – wierd, but it was true. Do keep dreaming of seeing the places you have in your heart – it gives you something wonderful to look forward to. But from a friend who has been able to see that desire fulfilled, I can honeslty, truthfully, sincerely say: one look into Fiala’s eyes is worth all the visits to those places. Now – if you can take the kids with you – that would be something! 🙂

  5. I’m so thrilled you discovered Acadia and MDI through Robert McCloskey! That’s so cool. I went to MDI as an the uninitiated guest of my sister who was driving carriage horses there. I became completely hooked and now blog about it here on WordPress and also publish a site to keep my passion in check:

    http://www.ouracadia.com
    http://ouracadia.wordpress.com

    Let me know what you think!

  1. Pingback: Wistful: Children’s books vs. Reality « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

