Lost phone, cheap oranges, etiquette, God’s sovereignty, and worship/prophetic

  • Better Than I from Joseph, King of Dreams plays in the background while I write, as my kids watch it, after lunch.  That is one of the most powerful songs, ever.  It could be my life’s anthem.  When I first saw that movie, I so NEEDED it.  Being blessed doesn’t mean that everything will be easy, and discipline doesn’t mean that the Father doesn’t love me.  “I’ve let go the need to know why / I’ll take what answers You supply / For You know better than I.”  I am convinced that the reason the movie was never released in theaters is because it is such a vivid picture of the sovereignty of God.  Americans don’t want to hear that God is sovereign.  We’ll gladly have Him work miracles.  But, submit to His plan??  Hmph.
  • I lost my mobile phone.  If you tried to call me in the last three weeks, I didn’t get the message, or the text.  We looked into getting me a new phone, but it was cost-prohibitive.  Then — DUH!! — I remembered that we still had my old phone.  A couple calls to Verizon Wireless, and voila!  No cost to reconnect it, nor to suspend my other phone.
  • This is fun!  Don’t Gross Out the World, an 11-question on global meal etiquette.  I got 9 out of 11.  My kids all got 4 to 6.
  • I’ve been way over food budget for the last couple of months… I’m recommitting to clipping coupons and being very careful.  It is extremely hard to eat restricted diets, healthily, on the cheap.  This past trip, I was able to spend about 40% less than I have in weeks past, with especially careful shopping of the sales, plus saving $11 in coupons (pre-celiac disease, I used to save $35-40 per trip, up to $60 at times), and simply doing without some things I wanted to buy.  A SCORE was finding oranges at $0.19 per pound.  I bought 16 lbs, and two days later, they’re half gone.  I also got 11 lbs of organic Braeburn apples at $0.67 per pound.
  • Last night at kinship, I had a prophetic song that was about fixing our eyes on Jesus, as the source of our peace and joy, no matter what was going on, on the left and the right of us.  I needed it today;  I keep recalling it…  Yesterday, I thought, “That little rice-reaction-rash Fiala has on her cheeks looks like it might be staph.”  This morning, there’s no doubt.  😦  It’s all over her face, and her arms, too.  Her sweet cheeks are all crusty again.  She’s only been off of her five-week round of antibiotics for… three weeks?  four?  I can’t remember now.  It’s disheartening to see it back.  I thought we were DONE with staph!!  I’m waiting to hear back from the doctor.  But, my eyes are fixed on Jesus, and I’m leaning on Him for peace, and for joy, and though it’s an effort, I will not let the enemy disable me with discouragement and grumpiness.
  • Oh!  Plus, I found out this morning that I will likely need a root canal.  I about cried at the dentist’s office.  I come home, and my husband says, “No way.  There has to be another option.  I’ve read awful things about the side-effects that can come from root canals, like life-long migraines.”  That didn’t help.  The thing that kills me is that my tooth didn’t hurt UNTIL I got a filling a couple of weeks ago.  Now, I’m on several-times-daily aspirin or ibuprofen because the pain radiates down into my jaw, back into my ear, into my head.  My dentist said, “Six percent of the time, we do a filling, and end up having to go back in for a root canal because the nerve is so damaged from the drilling needed for the filling.”  :\  I didn’t know that!  Plus, root canals obviously kill the root, which cuts off the blood supply to the tooth, which leads to tooth brittleness, as it’s no longer being supplied by calcium, so they have to do a crown.  Seems like a “cascade of interventions” to me.  I am not pleased.  Still.  My peace and joy don’t come from perfect teeth:  they come from fixing my eyes on Jesus.
  • Speaking of prophetic stuff, I don’t think I’ve ever blogged about prophetic stuff spoken over me, but last night, my kinship leader spoke something very short, and it completely resonated in me.  IT has stayed with me, as well.  He simply said, “God wants you to know that you’re both a trumpet and a harp.”  Instantly, I knew what he meant.  …  During kinship, we have teaching, then worship, and after worship, I just strum a little chord progression to “cover” the time of ministry and prayer.  The whole time, I kept up the same G – Em7 – D – C2 thing going over and over, and prayer was just a fountain out of me.  I sang very, very quietly.  I don’t know if anyone even heard me, except the kinship leader, who, at the very end, came and stood inches from me and started singing with me.  It was just sweet.  I could have gone on for hours.  As it was, I think it did last a good 30 minutes, maybe more…  Prophetic with strength = trumpet.  Lyrical, tender worship = harp.
  • I hope that last bit wasn’t too much Joseph-in-his-immaturity!!
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 4, 2010, in Character Development, Christian Living, Christianity, Encouragement, Medical Stuff, Movies, Music, Prophetic, Sad Things, Shopping, The Kids, Worship. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. OMW Karen! Sometimes I think we were twins separated at birth. I LOVE that song! When I first heard it, it sounded like God had written it just for me! I so related to Joseph – all my life. Then, I LOVED the movie – and then I LOVED that song. Recently, I loaned the movie to Heidie for her to share with the Superchurch kids. Now, I must email her to give it back…because I must watch it AGAIN to hear that song for the 50th time. Now, it’s on my mind. Don’t you love the scene where Joseph plants a little tree in that prison, and how the movie condences time to show its growth? I love how the tree is a metaphor for Joseph – how with care, attention, and love, the most broken thing can become a glorious thing of beauty. I just wept at that scene. What a victory was Josheph’s – I pray that over my life all the time. To endure as he did, to face injustice as he did, to believe God as he did…to forgive as he did. I love Joseph. So glad you liked the movie too!

    • Kathy, I feel somewhat sheepish; I don’t deserve the “twins” thing: I think it was you that introduced Joseph KoD to me, lo these many years ago. At least, I already knew that you loved the movie. Or, maybe it was that I already liked it, but you expanded my understanding and appreciation of the movie… I can’t remember now.

  2. P.S. – if you need lemons, I have them. Don’t buy any of those.

  3. Your post made me smile. Even though little Fiala is struggling with her rash, and you may need a root canal, I still see the love of Jesus in your post. God bless you, Karen! I will continue to pray for you!
    I’m going to have to download that song.
    Hugs to you!

  4. Root canal and sweet worship in the same post. 🙂 You are cool!

    The Lord has recently suprised me with a new charge, worship leader for our women’s ministry. It’s been a year and a half since I’ve been involved in leading worship and I’m humbled to be back. 🙂 Though of course we are all ministers whether on stage or not!

    Sorry to hear about Fiala. Sigh!

  5. Oh!! *raises hand while wiggling in seat*

    Before!!! you get a root canal, you might ask the dentist to check to see if he needs to grind the filling down. It is entirely possible that your bite is off. That happened to me a couple of years ago. I had the same kind of pain you’re talking about after I got fillings. It doesn’t hurt to ask. They put something that reminds me of carbon paper between the top and bottom teeth where the filling is and have you bite down on it. They check to see if color came off onto the filling and where. From that, they can tell if the filling needs to be ground down a wee bit.

    I didn’t know about the filling/root canal/brittleness/crown thing. Thanks for the warning.

    I’m so sorry for your discomfort.

    Good job on the grocery budget savings. It is so hard to do that on special diets!

    Hugs,

    • Esther, the dentist did do that. 😦 I’m still holding out hope, though, that there’s a ridge of raw tooth that she drilled out, and left uncovered by the filling material, and that I won’t need a root canal.

Leave a Reply

