What’s in a name?

Andrée Seu, won’t you please, won’t you please, please won’t you be my neighbor?

Though usually, somewhere within her essays, she states that because of what she’s written, folks will turn their backs on her left and right (and, maybe it’s because she’s experienced — unfortunately — the “left foot of fellowship” from other believers more often than she’d care to), every time I read something of hers, I have the opposite reaction:  I have a wish that she lived next door, and she could walk right over, and I could make her a cuppa, and we could chat.  Such graciousness, intelligence, maturity, a heart for Jesus, and humor are too rarely packaged in one person.  (Kathy B., have you read much of her stuff?  You’d like her, I think.  Similar hearts, yours and hers, I believe.)

In the March 13, 2010 issue of World magazine, there was yet another commentary by Andrée that was spot on.  Just right.  I wanted to reproduce a few excerpts from her article here in my blog, but as I read and re-read it, I think, “What would I leave out?”  So, I’m going to copy the whole thing here.  (I’ve e-mailed her in the past, and she said I could do so!) World magazine must have altered their policy, because their web police asked me to not publish the full content of the essay on my blog…  You’ll have to click at the end to read the full article — PLEASE do.

So, without further ado:

What’s in a name?

Let’s care more about Jesus than our brand’s market share | Andrée Seu

I knew a woman who was allergic to dust—and just about everything else. Elaine was a veritable canary in a coal mine: Put her in a house with any spore count that registers and you could skip the take-home test kits.

I have developed a hypersensitivity of a different kind. I sense when Jesus is slipping away from a place. I know that sounds prideful, but the only reason for my acuteness is that I slipped away for decades.

My condition manifested not long ago at a formal seminary dinner. Conversations around the table broached every subject under the sun but Jesus. The after-dinner speaker waxed of venerable “traditions.” Something wasn’t sharp somehow.

I don’t think I’m imagining this. At a banquet of truckers for Christ, I knew right off the bat that it was all about Jesus and not about the organization; the excitement for Him was palpable. You don’t know off-white until you see white next to it.

Meanwhile, back at the seminary affair…

Read the rest here.


About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 10, 2010, in Character Development, Christian Living, Christianity, Magazines. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. WOW! Right on! I’m glad you shared her article. I’d not yet been introduced to Andree Seu. THANKS

    BTW- what happened to our cute little weather pixies? I thought it was just mine but I see yours is rogue too.

  2. Totally. Of course, I don’t see my neighbors much, but I’d love to have her come over frequently [smile].

    ~Luke

  3. Thank you for respecting our copyrighted content.

    Signed,

    WORLD’s Web Police 😉

  4. Nicole Cottrell

    Karen, I felt compelled to poke my nose around your blog today for the first time. I cant believe it has taken me so long to do so. I got sucked in. I learned so much about you and got some great recipes at the same time. You inspire me! And encourage me!

    xo
    Nicole Cottrell

  5. Karen – thank you so much for sharing that article. This has been something that I have been feeling a lot lately. Maybe less in the “denomination” arena but more in the – are we doing what Christ called us to. Are we obeying and making disciples and showing those around us the love of Christ? Being in leadership – this is the thing I ask myself on a regular basis, as well as the church I belong to and those in leadership around me. I know I fall short regularly, but at least I know that my focus is on Christ and not why I believe what I believe and 12 theological arguments to justify my reasoning. He came, He lived, He died, He rose again and He will come back. He did that for me and I live to serve and love Him. The rest really doesn’t matter. I am thankful for your heart sweet friend and thankful for your love of Him.

Leave a Reply

