Haircut, a missed opportunity, vegan bread, Percy Jackson, and other stuff of VAST importance ;)

  • I got a haircut, the first one in nearly a year and a half, since BEFORE Fiala was born.  I like it, mostly.  Its about at my collarbone now, which is about a foot shorter than it was, but I wish it was a bit shorter.  I also rather wanted bangs, but the guy who does my hair (the last heterosexual male hairstylist in Scottsdale, almost certainly, and the only person who has cut my hair in my 15 years of marriage) said that it would make me look too “soccer-mommish” and that every 30-something mom has chin-length hair with bangs, so he wouldn’t do chin-length-with-bangs on me.  He says that now, my hair is “sophisticated” but it’s not quite the funky kind of style I was looking for.  I gave him too much artistic license.  I knew my hubby would like the cut, though, and he does.
  • Pantene detangling spray is WELL worth the 80¢ above the price of Suave kids detangling spray.  Take it from my 3yo daughter.  I mean, take her word on it.  Don’t take the spray!  (I think it must have been on sale… it was $2.59 at Target, but online, it’s selling for $4-5 or so.)
  • My Dad is coming to stay with us for a week.  He arrives on Wednesday.  It’s a mostly-business trip, so we won’t see him during the day.
  • Kicking myself for a missed opportunity:  I saw a former good-acquaintance/almost-friend who works part-time at Costco, and we chatted a bit.  I asked her what was going on, and she said, “Well, I’m just trying to figure my life out.”  Golly, what an open door!  Did I ask her about her relationship with Jesus??  No.  Did I invite her back to church??  No.  Did I even really express interest in who she is and how she’s doing??  I hope so, but I thought of 13 billion other/better/different things I could have said or asked, after I left the store.  Bummer.
  • I like Chopped.  I also really like America’s Best Dance Crew, but I don’t often get to watch it, because my hubby is extremely careful to not watch anything with scantily-clad women on it, and some of the outfits are pretty spare, to be certain.  It’s also on at 11 p.m. here, so I should be in bed, instead of watching TV.
  • We’re doing “Spring Break” this week.  I’d rather do EASTER break, but I didn’t want to wait another 2-3 weeks until we had a break;  I need one.  Plus, my boys always appreciate when their breaks are concurrent with the neighborhood kids’.  Today, I spent cleaning and working on the book I’m ghost-writing.  It was a really good day, actually.
  • I am working on a bread that is gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, corn-free, plus-other-random-stuff-that-Fiala-is-allergic-to-free.  I based it off of a recipe I found, but my results, so far, are not nearly as attractive as hers.  Still, I have been highly encouraged at the taste and texture of the bread I’ve produced;  it’s actually good.  Now, I just need to get the exact right amount of moisture, so that it will poof up like real bread, and not be flat across the top, a là banana bread.  I’ve baked seven loaves so far, experimenting with varying ingredients and pan sizes… I’m close!  I’ll post a recipe, once I get it perfected.
  • On Friday, on the way home from the library, I was talking with my 12yo son who was sitting up front with me in the truck.  “That’s the problem with new libraries, I guess:  They’re mostly stocked with new books, and most of the newer literature for kids and teens…”  I paused, looking for an adequate-but-kind word.  “Are junk,” he helpfully filled in for me.  Yes, junk.  That’s the bane of the popularity of Harry Potter:  LITERALLY 80% of what is on the library shelves right now are books and series that are Harry-Potter-wannabes, all full of evil and sorcery and disaffected kids looking for POWER in all the wrong places.  😦
  • Sort of along those lines, I took Ethan to see Percy Jackson and the Olympians last night.  We both THOROUGHLY enjoyed ourselves.  There were several suggestive parts — looks and turns of phrase — that I would have rather my almost-13yo son not see, but other than that, it was so good.  Knowledge of Greek mythology:  very helpful.  “Who’s the guy who ferries souls across Styx?” I asked.  “Charon,” he immediately answered.  On our drive to the movie, I told him how I would SO much rather him see a movie based on Greek mythology — which is obviously not Christian — than to have him immerse himself in the quasi-spiritual, morally relativistic, yin-and-yang, subversive, “let’s all be friends with our enemies” crap of Avatar, which was his first choice.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 15, 2010, in Books for children, Christianity, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, Family, Hair, Homeschooling, Housework, Movies, Random Stuff, Reviews, Travelling, TV, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. So….where is the photo? You can’t write about such a change in your appearance and not include a photo!

    My 5 yo thanks you for the detangling suggestion! 🙂

  2. what’s wrong with loving our enemies?

    • Love enemies. Don’t become the enemy. In the world, not of the world. I believe that there is true evil, and it needs to be avoided, not befriended.

    • Just to clarify: I’m not suggesting that the movie Avatar (and the aliens within) are the epitome of evil. What I’m extremely leery of is the message, currently rampant in American culture, that there really is no evil, and all enemies are simply misunderstood friends, and that there’s no reason to take sides on anything, no reason to draw lines in the sand… I don’t agree with that.

  3. Thanks for the pingback; so how is the bread working? I’ve had some issues replacing the buckwheat flour with alternate flours, in that its seemed too dry, and consequently didn’t rise as well. I like the buckwheat version a lot, but I’d like a more traditional ‘white’ bread as well. Keep me posted! Love hearing about it!!

    PS I was homeschooled/unschooled too 🙂

    • Hey!! Thanks for the visit!! The beautiful pics of your vegan bread are still spurring me on, letting me know that it is possible to have GFCFEF and corn-free bread that looks & tastes like real bread!! Four different recipe tweaks so far, and it’s still not rising correctly, but I think I’ll get there! The best part is that the texture and taste is fabulous. I have to sub for the millet (youngest daughter is super-allergic), and I’m using guar gum ILO xanthan. After having repeated moisture problems with the bread, I did a little calibration on my 4 cup glass measuring cup, and after YEARS of baking/cooking with it, I never noticed that the marks are OFF! So, 3 cups are more like 3 1/3 cups. Ack! I will definitely let you know when I get it right. 🙂 My main problem is that it is rising, then deflating. Next batch, I’m going to try adding Ener-G egg replacer, take out another 1/4 cup of water (I’m doing double batches), and trying a faster/warmer rise.

  4. I think that the thing with ‘Avatar’ though, is that what the main character set out to do in the first place WAS evil… And the point of the movie is that he comes to the realization that what he was doing is wrong and so he switches sides, which, in my opinion, is different than saying that there is no evil at all. I agree that there are way too many things out there telling us that we shouldn’t take sides on anything, that everything is relative, and that evil doesn’t exist, but at the same time it is important to remember that we ARE all human and our motivations and actions are sometimes too complex to label blackly or whitely as right or wrong.

  5. I have NO DESIRE to see Avatar. Gana really wanted to see it so he went with a friend. High hopes because of all the hype. He came home going, “What was the big deal?” and feeling like he had wasted his ten bucks. “Should’ve just rented it.”

    I didn’t say “I told you so.”

Leave a Reply

