Two ounces of heaven. For free.

“$1.29 for a cookie??  I don’t think so.”

This was my kind and generous response to my 3yo daughter, Audrey.  I was trying to come up with rational reasons why she couldn’t have the scrumptious-looking cherry-fig-newton-on-steroids on display, cunningly kept kids’-eye-level in the checkout line at Sprouts.*

My first, and very valid reason, was that there was no way it could be gluten-free, a must for both her and me, since we have celiac disease.**  The check-out guy helpfully offered, “I think it is gluten-free.”

The packaging is a tad different, now, with "GLUTEN FREE" replacing "JUMBO"

“No way,” I countered, grabbing a package for a closer inspection.  Sure enough.  Both the labeling on the front, and the ingredient list on the back proclaimed its safety.  Hmph.  “Still.  I’m not paying $1.29 for a 2 oz cookie.  Especially not right before lunch.”

Tears glimmered on the rims of Audrey’s eyes, though, surprisingly, no hint of tantrum was to be seen!  Based on that rare display of self-control alone, I was considering relenting my hardball stance.  As I paused, the check-out guy looked at Audrey’s downcast face.  Then he looked at me.  “My treat!” he said sprightly, and tossed it in the bag.

Audrey, who would respond with a sunny, “Of course!” if a king granted his dominion to her, and I, stunned, both thanked him.  We opened the package on the way to the car.

I must admit, my expectations for gluten-free baked goods are pretty low.  Quite low.  However, as just the scent of this cherry-filled goodie wafted upwards, my expectations began to lift.  But, gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, refined sugar-free, all natural, high in fiber… How good could it be??  I nibbled a corner.

Oh, my word.

So that’s how they can charge $1.29 for one cookie!!!  It’s FABULOUS.  Sweet and gooey on the inside, loaded with real fruit, real, honest-to-goodness cherry taste, and with a baked outside shell of the appropriate soft-cookie texture.  It was so good.

Audrey appropriately savored each nibble, and mostly resisted my pleas for her to share with me.  Whoever came up with the saying, “As easy as taking candy from a baby!” must not have actually ever tried to take sweets from a little one.

I have since purchased three or four of them, my new guilty pleasure from Sprouts.  “Guilty pleasure” because I’m such a tightwad that $1.29 is still expensive for ONE cookie, even a heavenly one.  But, I guess that the check-out guy made a pretty good investment, because he created a repeat customer who was so wowed by the cookie that she’s now blogging about it so the world (small sliver that reads this blog, that is) can share in her joy.

Go, get yourself an expensive cookie.  😉

Betty Lou’s Fruit Bars:  $15 for a box of 12.

The ingredients:

Cherry Fruit Filling [Fruit Juice Concentrate (Peach, Pear, Pineapple, Apple), Cherries, Apple Powder, Tapioca Starch, Inulin, Natural Flavors, Water, Pectin, Locust Bean Gum, Citric Acid, Red Cabbage Extract, Red Beet Juice Concentrate and Annatto for color], Fruitrim® (Fruit Juices, Natural Grain Dextrins), Gluten-Free Oats, Gluten-Free Flour Blend (Potato Starch, Brown Rice Flour, Stone Ground Sorghum Flour, Tapioca Flour), Safflower Oil, Inulin (dietary fiber), Water, Guar Gum, Xanthan Gum, Sea Salt, Cinnamon, Baking Soda, Ginger.

————-

*I’m trying to set the record for most hyphens in one sentence.

**Well, we actually only suspect she has celiac disease, but that’s another story entirely.  Chances are good, with both her mom and an older brother who has it, and she has all the symptoms.  However, she’s never been tested, as I’ve never allowed her to get sick enough as required to participate in a “gluten challenge” in order to get a definitive diagnosis.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 29, 2010, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, gluten-free, Reviews, Shopping, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. thanks for the information. nicely written.

    I am glad I am one of the slivers. 😉

  2. I love grocery store surprises! Dealing with Crohn’s Disease and living on a highly-restricted diet (no gluten, no grains, no sugars, no starches), a treat at the store that I can actually EAT is a rare pleasure… and a wonderful surprise!

  3. I predict some kitchen experimentation to recreate this delight is going to be happening soon…am I right?

    • Oh, I don’t know! It did inspire me to start baking w/ my newly-discovered gluten-free oats. (I mean, I recently discovered that I can now tolerate them.) Right now, my g.f. vegan bread (rice-free, millet-free, corn-free, too) is kicking my rear still. TEN TRIES, 29 loaves, nearly three weeks of trying, and it’s still not right…. I can’t see past the bread yet. 🙂

  4. I just ahd one of these two days ago and they are fabulous!!! unfortunately gluten free oats still bother me so I only had a nibble and gave the rest to my husband…. I have to come up with a recipe for them. so good!

Leave a Reply

