Bread that is kicking my rear, mothering genes, sandals, and your questions

  • 32 loaves of bread in a 2.5 week span will, apparently, cause your Sunbeam Mixmaster to irreparably break.  Anyone have a KitchenAid they wanna sell cheap?  In related news, if you have a KitchenAid on Craigslist in Phoenix, and you’ve sold your mixer, please delete your ad, because nonfunctional ads have caused my hopes to be raised and dashed a number of times in the last few days.
  • 32 loaves of bread that never quite work out the way they’re supposed to will, also, eventually lead to a sense of Baking Inadequacy and discouragement.  😦  I’m knocked down, but I’m not knocked out.  Not yet, anyway.
  • 32 loaves of bread in a 2.5 week span will also help you pack on a few pounds.
  • I read this with interest:  Can a Bad Mother Help Her Nature? in the Times of London.  When Ethan, my oldest, was born, I often felt like there was some sort of mothering gene that was supposed to kick in that, in me, wasn’t.  It may be that I wasn’t far off.  According to the article, and my own experience, a solid community of support is critical for the development of mothers to whom mothering doesn’t really come all that naturally.  (Makes your posts, Daja, about post-partum care come to mind — your post which I cannot find.  If you send me a link, I’ll post it here, if you don’t mind. Find all of Daja’s relevant, beautiful, and important posts about post-partum care here — especially read her “Time to Heal” series.)
  • Stride Rite Lollipop

    I’d also really like to find a pair of NARROW little girl’s sandals, white, real leather, that DON’T cost $30+.  I’m still looking.  If you have any tips, send ’em my way.  My fave so far:

  • I had something else I wanted to say, but now I can’t remember.  I’ll have to save it for another day, I suppose.  However, I also thought that if anyone has any questions of any sort for which you think I may have an answer, I’d love to give it a shot.  Any topic!
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 30, 2010, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Housework, Motherhood, Science, Shoes, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. So what are you looking for in a loaf of bread? Let me know and I will play with my recipe and see if I get anything that is acceptable. Vegan, no millet are all I can remember.

    • That’s right. No corn, either (including xanthan gum & starch). My basic problem is that if the loaf/batter is wet, then it will rise, but then it immediately falls/caves upon baking. Also, during rising, once it reaches the top of the pan, it will spill out, rather than rise UP. But… if I remove the water, the dough is too heavy (or something) and it won’t rise enough, at all. I’ve experimented with just about everything I can think of, both in ingredients and technique. If you have some suggestions, I’ll take ’em! Or… if you’re willing, I could forward you my work-in-progress recipe and you could help me hash it out! (No pressure!)

  2. I don’t know which postpartum post you wanted, ’cause there were several last year. But, here are all the posts on postpartum so maybe you can find it. There are not too many….maybe 6 or so.

    http://gombojav.blogspot.com/search/label/postpartum

    For bread that doesn’t quite turn out, make croutons to use in salads and soups. Or bread crumbs. You can keep them all in the freezer.

    🙂

  3. Re: breadmaker: have you tried Freecycle. I see them posted ALL the time around here.

    Re: Bread… I’m sure you’ve tried this, but a few of our random pizza, etc recipes call for seltzer (DH can’t have yeast)- unflavored, obviously :-). Seems to work well, but not sure how it’ll work in breads that need to rise. Just a thought.

    • I have not tried seltzer, Laura! I will have to look into that.

      And, funny! You and Kim had the same thought about the bread maker. Actually, it’s my stand-up mixer that broke. Some gears inside of it were stripped somehow. I’ve been mixing the dough up in a bowl, and though the model I have is supposedly heavy-duty, and it has a lot of power, the components did not stand up to all the dough-mixing. It’s less than a year and a half old, too!!

      • Re: bread– also, it seems to me at some point that we used to add some kind of Vitamin C… I’m pretty sure it was buffered vit c (or was it “unbuffered”) to add some sort of rise… it’s been so long I don’t remember, but I just searched google and found a recipe for muffins that had flour, salt, baking soda, unbuffered Vitamin C crystals, oil, water. Just a thought.

        And, re: mixer— if it’s only a year and a half, I would contact the manufacturer… likely it’s under SOME sort of warranty, and if not, I’ve sent them my breadmaker, and they “fixed” it for cheap (actually, I’m pretty sure they sent me a brand new one– not complaining 🙂

  4. millenialhomemaker

    Karen,
    Your posts always make me smile. I can’t wait to spend $1.29 on that cookie… if I can ever get to Sprouts!
    Hope you had a great Easter!
    Jeanne 🙂

  5. Nipped over from your comment on Henny-

    I’m on my second breadmaker and wouldn’t survive without it, since we average two loaves a day. However, it has started making clanking noises lately.

  6. I’ve been wanting to ask you about Phonics. I know we’ve talked about it before but what do you use, like etc.?

    Also on Spelling Power. Do you use it to teach spelling or only to test? Not the workbook right?

    Hmmm, what else?

    On editing. You are editing a friends novel. Is it copy editing, content editing both? Fiction or non? etc. 🙂

    When can I be me again? This whole month I’ve been feeling like I don’t have 10 min of the day (or night )when I’m just ME. Some of that is brought on by a new charge in ministry and getting used to ministERing instead of sitting back and receiving it all. Much of it too is sick kids and a new little one (3mo) who comes a couple days a week and is my “job” now. Still more is me having a personal agenda in mind that isn’t altogether realistic but oh so tempting. 🙂 There is probably more and I suppose that was a retorical question!

    • Jess, I’m sorry you’re feeling overwhelmed. There’s a fine balance, as a Christian woman, finding what the right balance is in serving, but not drowning. I’m totally NOT into our culture’s agenda of, “You DESERVE it. You need ME time.” However, I also believe that God created us with specific things that stir our hearts, motivate us, bring beauty and pleasure and joy, and that THOSE shouldn’t be lost or discounted.

      Something that helps is that, for each area in which I’m involved, even though it often feels like too much (sometimes WAY too much), at least each part of it, I love. Mothering, writing, leading worship, homeschooling…

      Phonics: For early years, I really like Explode the Code. I like the way it’s laid out, and I like that they have “1/2” books for the kids who just don’t “get” it as fast as others may. Supporting phonics is Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons. It is very phonics-based. Also, Handwriting Without Tears is, at heart, obviously, a handwriting program. However, they have LOTS of supplemental activities and programs to support phonics development.

      Spelling Power: I use this primarily to test, but it is a system that helps support BOTH phonics and sight-word testing. However, it’s not really appropriate until 3rd grade or so. I do a test at the beginning of the year, and if the child tests at 2 years or more above grade-level, he doesn’t have to do spelling as a separate subject that year, although we always include spelling correction in other written work.

      Editing: It’s actually more like ghostwriting. That’s what the original author is calling it, anyway. Her content, her ideas, her stories, her voice… but enhanced and upgraded with my writing skill. I have literally reworked every word, every sentence. I have nixed a page here, a paragraph there, but have kept virtually all of her original writing, but have rearranged a LOT, and have worked on honing the focus of each individual chapter, and the book as a whole. I am still working on it. It’s nonfiction.

      • Ha! I wrote that last reply very quickly, and want to go back and edit it… I feel like it’s a poor reflection of my writing. Oh, well. Humility is necessary, too. 🙂

        • 🙂 Thanks. When I read my comment I went “wow, I really dumped, I don’t remember saying that!” Thanks for the encouragement though. You are right, it’s not “ME” time I need but we are designed to need spiritually recharged. Even Jesus sought out time alone with the Father. I guess that’s all I needed. Priorities, again and again.

          I guess I don’t need to worry about that school stuff until next year then!

Leave a Reply

