Awkward homeschoolers, pretzels, and natural induction

*“presumed” because I fit the list of symptoms, which were alleviated by a gluten-free diet, but I would not return to a gluten-containing diet to have an intestinal biopsy done.  I should have been scoped before the diet, which neither I nor my doctor knew at the time.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 14, 2010, in Babies, Birth, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing the Awkward Homeschoolers link. Great post! 🙂

    *Just so you know, it’s possible to be gluten sensitive and yet have all of the testing turn out negative. All of my testing was negative for CD – blood work and intestinal biopsy. One test was suggestive of gluten sensitivity, but nothing was conclusive except the elimination of gluten. If you ~need~ something in writing, you might consider having the gene test done. Several labs do it; I recommend Enterolab.

    • Yeah, Esther, I waver between whether or not I should get a definitive dx. I’m tending towards NOT at this point.

      Also, although this doesn’t really fit my situation, the gene test is weird for CD, because not everyone who has the gene has symptoms, even though CD is technically autosomal dominant. So, the debate is, “If you have the gene but NO symptoms at all of CD, does that mean you *still* have CD and should go on a g.f. diet as a precaution or preventative?” IOW, at least at this point, having the gene is not a clear indicator of having CD, so not every doctor thinks it relevant. I really have no doubt that I have CD (it’s in my family; I had symptoms from infancy, etc.)… so there’s no reason, other than to have an expert confirm it.

  2. Thanks for the link-love! And, yes, I love it when the comments add so much more to posts. That is one of the many beautiful things about blogging.

    ~Luke

Leave a Reply

