I got a KitchenAid!! (No, not a new one. I’m too cheap for that.)

Off of Craigslist, I purchased an old KitchenAid stand mixer for $60.  Sixty bucks!!  Though I dream of a shiny, new, professional $500, 6 quart capacity, ultrapowerful KitchenAids in some funky color, I am happy with this old, white, cheap one for now:  It’s more KitchenAid than I ever had before!!!   It’s a 4C, which is a model that was produced from 1962 – 1979.  So, at a minimum, it’s in its early thirties!  The thing must weigh 30 pounds, and has definitely been used regularly throughout its life.  However, it’s in perfect working order, came with two stainless steel bowls (one 4 quart, and one 4.5 quart), the paddle, whisk, and dough hook, and also an attachment which I think is a meat-slicer of some sort.

If anything, it works TOO well.  I wish it had a super-low setting for whisking together dry ingredients.

The man from whom I purchased it said that he bought it new, lo these many years ago, for his wife.  They then passed it to their daughter, who recently upgraded.  He explained a few operating details to me.

I called KitchenAid to see if I could somehow obtain an original owner’s manual.  After being on hold for quite a while, the girl returned to say that they could photocopy the original manual they have on file and mail it to me.  That works!  And, apparently, KitchenAid is owned or somehow affiliated with Whirlpool, which I did not know.  It was a tad disconcerting to have the lady say, “Am I speaking with Karen [last name]?”  At my surprise, she said, “You have registered some Whirlpool products, so we have your information on file.”  Oh.  OK!

I have whisked dry ingredients all over the floor.  I have determined that my normal bread dough is too thick for the paddle (the dough moves up and over the paddle), and too… something for the hook, as the hook does not mix it thoroughly.  So, ironically, I am back to mixing my bread with a sturdy wooden spoon and my right bicep.

Still, I’m very happy to have my decrepit KitchenAid, and extra-happy to have had to spend only $60 on it.

EDITED TO ADD:  I am especially thankful, because there are a number of needs and wants I have for my family, and a new mixer was among them.  (Although, a mixer being a “need” is debatable;  I really only NEED a wooden spoon and a bowl.  Still.  I really wanted one, and my old one broke.)  I had started to doubt the provision of God, and was starting to develop some… discontent in my heart, because my hubby and I were not in total agreement over how our money is spent.  I could tell that — obviously — my thoughts were not in the right place, and I needed a tune-up.  So, last week, I got some prayer over the issue from a man at kinship, and after I poured out my angst at length, he prayed over me.  I seriously started laughing as he prayed, and have laughed about it all week, because with no flowery speech, nor drawn-out prayer, he basically prayed over me and instructed me, “Don’t think that.  Trust God.”  And I NEEDED that simplicity:  Don’t think that.  Trust God.  OK.  Will do.  And, He provided almost immediately.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 22, 2010, in Christianity, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Housework, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. newbeginnings09

    I must admit that I am a tad envious of your find! There are NONE here. I have been searching til my fingers fall off for a non mixer bread recipe because, I don’t have a mixer or a bread machine. I got tickled at the amount of *amish* recipes I found involving a mixer…yeah, right!
    YAY for you!! Sorry about the sweep job though.

  2. Ok. the lowest setting is slow. But I never wisk dry ingredients. I put oil/water yeast in first and flour or whatever at the end. They sell a bowl guard but I never use it. The dough hook is tricky but does work with a little practice. If the dough climbs, just stop it and pull dough off. And let it do its work a while, a few minutes. I do the clean the bowl routine to know my dough is mixed well, but your mialige varries 🙂 Ah, can’t spell.

    Can make mashed potatoes. Fluffly frosting. Chocolate chip cookies. Breads. I LOVE my kitchenaids…..got two. Have the plain white one and the professional one but decided to keep both. My kids use them all the time. Good buy.

    • Yeah, that whisking thing. I always whisk my dry ingredients together, because with g.f. baking, there is always some sort of binder that needs to be thoroughly distributed throughout the dry ingredients before any liquid is added. My current recipe uses NINE dry ingredients… they all need to be well-incorporated. My Sunbeam had a micro-slow setting, and it worked well…

      It’s that whole weird gluten-free baking dilemma again… the dough just does not act the same way wheat flour dough does. It’s stickier… it doesn’t ball up… My Sunbeam had two dough hooks that worked together, and those were perfect, actually. They mixed the dough and it didn’t travel up. Oh, well!

      (I am still using your micro method of “incubating” the rising dough, though! I would *never* have thought of that on my own, and I’ve never seen it suggested in a recipe before, and it works really well. So, some things DO translate well, from “normal” baking and g.f. baking. So, even if it seems like I’m shooting down many of your suggestions, please keep them coming, because some of them have really helped!!!)

      FROSTING! Can’t wait to try it. I love fluffy frosting.

  3. Jay was very happy for you when I told him you got it. He said it will probably last another hundred years. 🙂

  4. http://www.kitchenaid.com/flash.cmd?/#/product/KN256PS/

    this isn’t exactly the one that i have, but it helps keep the dry ingredients in the bowl a lot. of course, i realize it is half as much as you paid for your whole mixer, but perhaps you can keep your eye out for a used one. 😉

    my kitchen aid is my husband’s grandmother’s. it does weigh 100 lbs, but i love the story that comes with it. 🙂

  5. Awesome find! I used to work with an old Kitchen Aid that sprayed dry ingrediance all over the place. It’s lowest setting wasn’t low enough! I found a trick to it. If the stuff I was blending had to stay dry, well I’d just do it by hand with a wisk but if I was, say mixing an egg in or something, I would pulse the lowest setting on and off untill it was mixed a bit. Once it looked wet enough I’d just keep it on. Then the stuff wouldn’t fly everywhere! Worked great.

Leave a Reply

