Wee update and wee blog-roundup

I haven’t blogged much lately. I have lots to say (probably too much!), but not the time in which to do it. Part of me thinks, “But summer’s almost here!” yet I don’t want my summer to slide by, and the best I can say of it be, “Well, I got a lot of blogging done!” Ack. So, we’ll see.  I already have way too much on my to-do list for summer.

I am days away from finishing a book which I am ghost-writing for a friend, which I’ve been working on since early February. “For a friend”, yes, but she’s paying me, which has been lovely. I have tithed, and socked the rest of it away for our family vacation, and, hopefully, to go to my sister’s when her baby is born, VERY hopefully to be there for the birth itself.

Speaking of birth, I am also eagerly anticipating the arrival of a friend’s baby.  She was my acquaintance, but as I’ve spent a good amount of time with her in the last five weeks or so, I’m so pleased to say she’s now my friend.  Her mother — who was a midwife — died when she was a little girl, and she was hoping for someone to step in and doula/be a labor coach.  Our mutual friend connected us, and I have been so delighted to share with her both my knowledge, and my excitement.  I think that has been the best thing:  taking her concerns and turning them into joys, imparting hope, bringing encouragement and peace…  We’ve talked on the phone, e-mailed, texted, visited at church, I’ve gone to a doctor’s appointment with her, we got to go out to lunch…  It’s really been a lovely, lovely time.  Now, her baby is seven days past his EDD, and I’m encouraging her to hang in there!  Audrey was eight days “late” and I will freely admit that was the longest eight days of my life.  It really looks, though, like the baby might make his appearance tonight or tomorrow, as it appears that my friend is in prodromal labor.

Frankly, I am interested in too many things.  It has been like that my whole life.  Jack of all trades, in a way, and master of absolutely none of them.  However, more and more clearly, I am honing my interest and time-spent in becoming more involved with birthing.  I’d love to become a midwife, the prospect of which — though it would involve years of training — seems thrilling to me, not daunting.  (I am easily daunted, especially by long tasks.)  I’m not sure exactly what path that would take, but I’m pretty sure that I’m going to start by becoming certified to be a doula, and my goal for that is to complete my studies by the end of this calendar year.  From there?  Who knows.  However, I LOVE birthing, and I love how God is such a wonderfully complex God that He made the process endlessly interesting, and that there is ALWAYS more to learn, and I love learning every bit about it that I can.

Until I can do a “real” blog entry (though this ended up longer that I had anticipated, and might actually qualify for a real entry!), please read these:

  1. My friend Erin used to blog semi-regularly, then pretty much stopped.  The last couple of weeks, she has been regularly blogging about her baby, Abigail, which has been such fun to read.  Erin’s a great writer, and Abi is so sweet and absolutely lovely, and I love seeing Erin be a mother.
  2. My friend Lisa wrote a great post, contrasting AA meetings with church, and, frankly, found church lacking in the support and transparency that she saw in the meeting.  Real food for thought.
  3. My favorite birthing blog, Stand & Deliver, recently had a writing contest (which I did not enter) about being transformed by motherhood and/or birthing.  The winning entry was — oddly enough — very little about either, but about the process that led her there. I found it a WONDERFUL read.  Wonderful.  Thoughtful, honest, intelligent, insightful, yet trusting the reader to make her own inferences…  I immediately put the author, who has her own blog, into my blog reader…
  4. My friend Nicole has a new blog, Modern Reject, which she is ambitiously filling with daily, meaty, honest, often humorous posts.  Very worthwhile.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 24, 2010, in Birth, Blogging, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Karen one of my favorite things about you (and all people) are those who are a “a jack of all trades.” And you are more than that. you are more of a renaissance woman. I’m pretty sure I once used the Shrek analogy of an onion to describe you…layers upon layers (minus the stinky part). Every time I see you I get something new and wonderful. Seriously.

    P.S. thanks for the blog plug! you rock!

  2. OMG!!! You linked ME? Just remember my friend that a year ago I embarked in taking just two grad classes in the summer to see if I could do it. This year I am 12 hours away from a masters degree!!!!! with stacks of books and an internship lined up for fall at a rehab hospital. I hope to encourage you not to be daunted by long, large tasks and that whatever you attempt, however long it takes is worth it. Ghost writing is worth it. So is helping with birth. Seasons. There are seasons. Going back to school does it for me. Who knows what you will do with your skills and talents.

  3. The article on AA and Church is something we’ve been stressing in the book we–my best friend and I–are writing: We have totally messed up our view of holiness and that has caused some serious issues. And that is very, very sad.

    ~Luke

  4. Thanks for the kind words and the link!

Leave a Reply

