So, I got the boys’ test scores back…

…from taking the Iowa Test of Basic Skills.  This was the first time, in eight years of homeschooling, that I’d had the boys tested according to the standard of anyone other than myself.

There was one thing that all three boys faltered in.  (Cue the fanfare!)  Dum-dum-dee-dah!!

Capitalization

😮

If there’s one thing that’s going to be a gaping hole in their education, I guess I’d prefer it to be something that is easily remedied.  I see a little unit on capitalization in the boys’ near future.

A few things were confirmed to me — suspicions that one son is lacking here, or excelling there, but other than the “capitalization” thing, there really weren’t any major surprises.  Well, strike that.  I guess I was very surprised at exactly how well they did.

Score one for the homeschoolers, I guess.  😉

There were 19 areas for which each boy were given test results.  The one that I’m listing here, though, is their “Complete Composite Total” which is an overall score of everything tested.

  1. Wesley, aged 8 (3rd grade 9th month) had a CCT that put him in the 73rd percentile (he did better than 73% of the same-grade students, nationally, who have taken the ITBS), and has a grade equivalency of 4th grade 7th month.
  2. Grant, aged 10 (5th grade 9th month) had a CCT in the 99th percentile, and a “13+” grade equivalency (past high school).
  3. Ethan, aged almost-13 (7th grade, 9th month), had a CCT in the 91st percentile, and 13+/past high school grade equivalency, as well.

So, does that mean I can just graduate the older boys right now from high school???  Just kidding.  It is food for thought, though, for their continuing education.  AND, I don’t think I need to stress out that we STILL haven’t finished Sonlight’s Core 4.  It looks like slow and steady does win the race.

(Special thanks to Brewer Testing Services, from whom I “rented” the test materials, and who processed the tests.  Everything was done in such a timely manner, with grace and great communication — Southern accent included!)

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 7, 2010, in Encouragement, Homeschooling, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Looks like things are going very well [smile]. Keep up the great work!

    ~Luke

  2. Karen…that is pretty cool news. I’m sure there is such a sense of relief and a little bit of pride (go ahead, you work hard and so do they…and God has blessed it) in their doing so well.

    Against my natural inclination: GO Homeschoolers! 🙂

    And Jon finished high school early and started taking college classes when he was 15, 16. So yes, it’s something to consider.

    • Nicole, you know that the odds are stacked against you… Resistance is futile, my friend!!! You’re getting the truth from all sides. Hahahahaha!! And your MIL is not subtle, is she? Kind, gentle, but not really subtle.

      And, yes, I’m very proud of them. It’s one more indication, though, that I’m harder on them than I should be — I think I see the places where they need improvement WAY more readily than the places where they’re doing well, and I think I’m much too quick to believe the worst of them! So, if nothing else, yes, there’s a sense of relief, and that I can relax a little — not cut our school day back to two hours or anything, but look at everything else we study from here on out as lagniappe, instead of thinking that they MUST learn THIS NOW or they will surely perish academically.

  3. That’s cool you ordered your tests from Pat Brewer! I live in her area and we attended the same co-op. She is a super nice lady. I’m sure she is thankful for your link to her services. 🙂

    • No way!! I had wondered if she was a homeschooling mom herself. That’s cool!! It’s funny, because some public school teachers told me to avoid the ITBS, because it “takes like four months to get the results back”. Um, maybe that would be public school administrative inefficiency, because it took Pat (and her husband?) less than two weeks (including mailing times on both ends) to get our scores back to us, and that was after she “warned” me it would take upwards of three weeks. Ha! One more reason to love homeschooling.

  4. I haven’t had my kids tested. It scares me. Just putting that out there.

    • I hear ya. Totally. I really did think, though I was pretty certain they were all doing fairly well overall, that there were going to be some gaping holes that were — no way around it — a poor reflection on me and how I teach them. But I decided to bite the bullet and take the pain, for the betterment of their education… I’m now glad I did. I truly don’t believe that testing is the be all and end all of education, but it is a PART of education, and while those who compare themselves among themselves are not wise… I do believe that it’s a good idea to see how *we* measure up as teachers, and where we need to better accent our kids’ education.

      NOT saying you have the same fears. But, most homeschooling moms I know fret that they aren’t doing enough, or doing it well enough, or that their child is missing out, or could be better taught by another teacher, or or or… and I think that 99% of the time, that’s just hooey. So, I’m glad I faced my fears, and with the results, am able to kick out all that awful self-talk (or lying whispers from the enemy).

  5. So… Isn’t that the same testing system we had at Northwest? Groovy. One concern some people have about home schooling is that the parent is generally not equipped educationally to teach the children adequately. This puts paid to that. Yay. 🙂

    • Still, I wasn’t qualified to administer the test. I don’t have a degree.

      I have met a few (very few) homeschooling families whom I want to steer away, ever so gently, from homeschooling, because it’s clear that the child/ren would not get the most complete education… but, in my experience, though I’m sure hs’ing naysayers are happy to trot those people out as typical homeschoolers, they’re few & far between. Most homeschooling mothers (and the occasional father) are well-educated, be it from a university, or self-taught.

      And, yes, I think that’s the same test that we got at Northwest. They revise it on a regular basis, so it’s not the same exactly.

  1. Pingback: Slowly preparing for school « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

