Weekend Update with Karen Joy (book-writing, flu, grout, glassware, birthing, friends, birthdays, sleepovers…)

This has been a good week.

  • I’m working with my friend to submit her manuscript to a variety of publishers, rather working like an (inexperienced) agent.  One down, others yet to come.  It’s exciting, and quite the learning experience.  The Christian Writer’s Market Guide is my close friend.  If you’re a pastor and have some interest in seeing prophetic art implemented in your church, or are already a published author, and are willing to review the manuscript and write an endorsement, leave a comment or e-mail me.
  • We are OVER being sick.  Four of the seven of us (including myself) got the flu this past week.  Even “just” 8-12 hours is a long time, when one or more people are puking.
  • I have worked hard this week on scrubbing five years of accumulated black gunk from about 800 square feet of ceramic tile grout.  It feels very satisfying to have it done.  I cleaned it with a paste of baking soda and water, scrubbed with a big scrub brush and an old toothbrush, then rinsed it three times both by hand, and with the bare floor function of my (Craigslist) carpet shampooer.  The results are like night and day.
  • Above the microwave. Still needs a plant of some sort on the right hand side…

    I was thinking this week, how I’d really like to infuse my home with some additional/ better/ updated decorating, especially my kitchen and bathrooms.  However, we don’t have the budget for it.  So, I prayed.  Literally, less than 24 hours later, someone offered some “decorative glassware” on Freecycle.  The location of the offerer’s home coincided with a grocery store to which I needed to go.  The glassware had a good 10 years of grease and pet hair gummed to their exteriors, and I was more than a tad grossed out.  However, I attacked them with baking soda and dishwashing liquid, refilled some of them (with white vinegar & small, fresh rosemary branches, or dried beans), repaired one of them, and they look like new.  Ten large jars, many bearing original price tags from Cost Plus and Pier One, for a total of at least $100 worth.  I combined the jars with other things I already had… I’m really pleased with the outcome.   God answers even silly prayers, and is so ready to bless His children!

  • I am now the mother of a teenager.  My oldest, Ethan, turned 13 on June 23.  I love him so;  he is such a blessing to our family, and I greatly anticipate seeing God continue to mature him, and to see how he grows…  I really enjoy him as a person, as a son.  (I had a birthday, too, but at this point, they aren’t quite as celebratory as they used to be.)
  • My friend Annie came over on Thursday, with her now-4 week old baby boy.  She came over after a nearby La Leche League support meeting (good for her!).  We spent time discussing her birth, with me reassuring her that she did great (she really did), even though the outcome wasn’t quite what she wanted.  She didn’t anticipate how pressured she would feel by the suggestions of the doctor and nurses, plus she had been so exhausted from 3 days of back labor, accompanied by virtually no sleep…  I assured her that for most EVERY birth, there is *something* that the mother wished had gone differently, that she had handled better, that had turned out more pleasing, etc., and that rather than beating herself up about it now, just file it away and say, “Next time, I now know I want to….”  She concluded that if she had another child, she would birth at home.  🙂
  • My dear son Wesley is going to a sleepover tonight.  This is just the second mother in our history who has braved Wesley’s food and health difficulties, and I am giddy with pleasure both for Wesley, and in the mother herself.  We spent 20+ minutes on the phone discussing menu plans and other accommodations.  Honestly, I think it is her history as an elementary public school teacher that makes her so ready and experienced to do whatever it takes to keep Wes safe, and I’m really thankful for that.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 26, 2010, in Allergies, Babies, Birth, Birthdays, Budget, Celiac Disease, Encouragement, Family, Friendships, Housework, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Summer Plans, The Kids, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Karen –

    Check out querytracker.com and agenttracker.com – both are a wealth of information. I still haven’t cracked my Writer’s Market [regular not Christian] but have found a ton of resources on those. Sent out my first queries this week and got my first rejection ;).
    Carol

  2. And how do you track views? I just set up a wordpress and no clue how…

    • On your Dashboard page, there is a stat counter. You may also click “view all” for a more comprehensive view of different stats. I also use a “blog stats” widget to count hits which are visible on my blog (you can find it in the “appearance” page — drag it from the “available widgets” into the “sidebar” section). AND, I use Sitemeter, which I started using because it tracks IP addresses; I needed to do that because I was having problems with a troll, and felt like I needed a little protection so that their comments could be traced back to their computer, if the need arose.

  3. Awesome. Thanks! I think the blog stats is what I was looking for – I just didn’t know what it did ;).

Leave a Reply

