One of those days

One of those days:

  • I started my day with Beth Moore and Queen Esther.  Good stuff.
  • I repaired an old bookcase with a nail, a staple gun, some wood screws and a power drill!
  • I mounted the book case on the upper shelf in the (very tall) the closet of my oldest son, Ethan, attaching it to the wall.
  • I cleaned out Ethan”s closet which also has all of the wrapping paper & giftbags in it, as well as all of our school and art supplies (though there is some sorting still to do in the school stuff).
  • I mounted a cork board — with a level and everything! — on Ethan’s wall so he no longer has to put up odds and ends with tacky/adhesive/silly putty-like stuff (forgot the name).
  • I put a bunch of things on Freecycle, as part of my my perpetual bid to clean out and de-clutter my home.

Still feels like I got nothing done.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 19, 2010, in Get Organized!. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m incredibly impressed. I don’t do stuff like that. I don’t want to. I’ve learned from men that if you do it poorly you won’t be asked to do it again.

    • Well… in a way, you’re right — Ethan, who was helping me, was quite worried about my slipshod methods; we both knew Martin wouldn’t approve!! But, I convinced Ethan that a solid, though ugly-repaired bookcase would make no matter since it would be tucked away in a closet. 🙂 I’m absolutely certain that Martin would have had much more attractive results, had he done the work… but with him working two jobs, there are things that he simply doesn’t have time for, and I just have to do myself. I really don’t mind it; I like working with my hands.

  2. I just stumbled upon your website actually, researching a food allergy I have. I think I’ve figured it out – sodium casienate in my hazelnut coffemate… it’s giving me a skin rash! Well, like I said, I THINK it’s the culprit. But–a post of yours from last year had turned up on my google search about the allergy.

    So I read a few of your current posts – and you know what? I started my morning with Beth Moore and Queen Esther too!!! Hurrah!!!! I’m so grateful to know our Father is providing for us, and I love sweet little reminders that we are always in his hands. (A friend doing the study with us was recently questioning her faith and, obviously then, her participation in the study. And at work the next week she met a kind, kind woman named Esther. She decided to stick around with us.) Blessings. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

