Driscoll on teen fiction (it’s more interesting than that title sounds, I promise!)

Pastor Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill Church reads my blog!

Just kidding.

However, we must have the same Spirit at work within us, because two days after I posted on the deplorable state of teen fiction, the Mars Hill Church posted this ten minute excerpt of a sermon… all about what??  The deplorable state of teen fiction.  He specifically ties it to the popularity of Stephenie Meyer’s fiction, in the last three minutes or so of the video.

It’s really funny, and really true.  And, I really saw several of those books on my library’s shelves…

Hat tip to Mrs. Gombojav… Thanks, friend!!!

Oh!  P.S.  I’m working on a post on GREAT fiction for teens, mostly recommended by my friend, Kathy.  However, it’s taking a while, because there are 50+ books, and I’m making links for all of them… Hang tight!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 11, 2010, in Books for children, Christian Living, Christianity, God/Christianity/Church, Parenting, Scary stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This was awesome. I have a ten year old boy who is reading in the young adult section now, and he’s into fantasy. He’s gone through all the Redwall books and is now on the Warriors series (recommended to him by a friend) by Erin Hunter.

    When Burger King had the Twilight tie-in, and we stopped there for lunch (I can eat gluten free there, and there wasn’t much else in the area), I had to go back up to the counter and ask for the toddler toys, pointing out that the Twilight movies were not appropriate for my 3 and 5 year old, both of whom are accustomed to getting a toy with the meal. Ugh. My son, after asking me what the posters were for, said, “As soon as I saw those faces of those people, I knew the movie was about something creepy.”

    • Karen, same here: Warriors series was introduced to my sons by a friend. My 11yo son, especially, likes them. My 13yo, not so much after the first 3 or 4; he says they’re all too similar. I have scanned several of the books (and read one of the comic book-style ones through), and while there doesn’t seem to be anything objectionable, I must admit that it *really* bothers me that the author is WAY into astrology. Not, that I’ve seen, in the Warriors series, but in her own life. 😦 I have considered banning the series, but as of now, I haven’t. There’s such a fine line there! I don’t think it’s necessarily good to outlaw everything that isn’t 100% adherent to my/our beliefs, but OTOH, there is definitely some fiction that veers far from what I am trying to instill in my children… It’s hard, sometimes, for me to find the line. But, I’m trying!!!

  2. Karen, if you haven’t, introduce your son to Tolkien. The Hobbit is a perfect book, and the Lord of the Rings was big in my husband’s life as a kid! And there are many more books published by the Tolkien trust with “lost tales” and legends of Middle Earth.

    • Yes, Karen! Ethan has read, re-read, and re-read the LOTR trilogy and the Hobbit… and we got him the Silmarillion last Christmas… Actually, he’s about worn out the trilogy + Hobbit, because it was mine when I was a teen…. the set has seen a lot of use. I didn’t read them until I was 16! He’s 13, and he knows the stories backwards and forwards, and the histories and maps, etc., much better than I ever did!

  3. He might also like the Lord of the Rings Monopoly game, then. It’s a hit at our house. They also make a LOTR Risk! We are huge Tolkien fans. We even named one of our kids after Tolkien. 🙂

Leave a Reply

