Errands, book progress, assumptions, and beauty

  • Today, we completed four errands in just under three hours:  bank, library, Costco, and post office.  We got back in time for lunch, which was my goal.  I am now exhausted.  It’s the heat, I think.  And just having five kids in tow, two of them in carseats.  It just wears on me.  But, it was a good outing, and only one of the children got into any significant trouble, which, by the odds, isn’t so bad.  🙂  I can’t wait until it’s cooler, and we can add hiking, or at least a trip to the park, back into to our Fridays.
  • I’m finishing up the additions to the manuscript I’ve been working on.  The “book acquisition” guy at our publisher liked the draft, but wanted more of it, and had several good ideas to expand the book.  His suggestions, plus some other stuff that the Holy Spirit “downloaded” to Marietta (as she describes it), have accounted for some wonderful new content.  Every year, my church hosts an international leadership summit.  In its first years, when it was smaller, Marietta (the book’s author) would paint a watercolor with the theme of the retreat, one for each attendee.  The last few years, as our numbers have grown to 50+, she has done one watercolor, and given everyone a nice, framed print.  This week, she mentioned that she is so hoping that the book will be published by the date of the next summit (late January 2011), so that she can give a copy of the BOOK to everyone.  I got so excited about that, I squealed and was giddy.
  • Note to self:  Assume less, check first.  I completed a whoppin’, time-consuming blog entry with all of my friend Kathy‘s recommended teen books, with about 75 links in it.  Then, just as I was about to click “publish” I thought, “Maybe Kathy would like to give this a look-see before I post it!”  It turns out my sweet friend is working on a series of posts on the same thing for her new blog, complete with mini-reviews of each book…  My heart sank, as I realized that I hadn’t even considered, while I was writing, that the list might be “proprietary”, so to speak.  So, I offered to hold off publishing it here, and I will happily link to her posts, when they’re completed.  🙂  Ah, humility…  You’re a hard one for me to learn!
  • Perhaps this should be a separate post on its own;  I hate to see it get buried in the bullet points, and I truly hope that a number of you click on these:  On Wednesday, I read my friend Nicole’s post on “The Wonder Woman Syndrome” or, women turning 30, and growing up — or not.  Yesterday was her 30th birthday.  Earlier on Wednesday, I had read a post that deeply resonated with me by my friend Kathy, about the treasure of having older friends — there’s more to it than that;  it’s hard to describe briefly, and the Miss Talaaant parts are priceless.  AND, related to those two, rolling around in my mind, was a real nugget of truth that was shared (via video) in the final session of the Beth Moore Bible study on Esther I’ve been attending on Tuesday nights at my church.  Beth said, “In man’s realm, time diminishes beauty. In God’s realm, where we will spend forever, time perfects beauty.” (Eccl. 3:11)  In a culture that worships youth and beauty, and wants us to deny aging, it was helpful to me to be reminded that His priorities are so opposite the world’s. He sees beauty in maturity.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 20, 2010, in Blogging, Books for children, Character Development, Christian Living, Friendships, Random Stuff, Shopping, The Kids, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’ve been meaning to ask you about the publishing thing :). So you have a publisher and are working on edits? Or you have a publisher who is conditionally interested or…? Are you working with an agent?

    From what I understand, January would be insanely fast to get a book published at this point, but anything is possible with God :).

    [Reference point: I have a friend who is going from contract with a publisher to a book in 9 mos – Daniel Fast book coming out in Dec – and she said her agent told her that was insanely fast – to the point she didn’t think she’d be able to get full color pics in it, but did in the end.]

    I’m working on getting an agent myself but so far all rejections. That said, I haven’t sent to any of my ‘top choice’ agents so I haven’t been rejected by them ;). Yet =D.

    • No agent. No contract yet, either. From our understanding, we are being “handled” by the book acquisition guy, and it’s his job to “sell it”, internally, so that Marietta does receive a contract, and at that point, will be assigned an official editor. The book acquisition guy makes sure that what we have is truly a completed manuscript. The B.A.G. is really chomping at the bit for us to finish; he is excited about the book, and it is their plan (from my understanding) to rush the book, as there is no other book on the market on the topic, and what we have, frankly, is good!

      It was our plan that, if submitting the book directly to our favored publishers didn’t work, we’d go the agent-route. I know there are reasons to have an agent, other than just getting one’s ms in the door, but so far, we’ve been treated more than fairly. As it was, our #1 choice for publishers accepted the ms within a matter of literally days… I think it was 10 days from submission to acceptance.

      Have you considered a service like Writer’s Edge, ILO trying for a “real” agent, at least to start with? http://www.writersedgeservice.com/ (Can’t remember if I asked you that already.)

      • P.S. I won’t forget your married name now, I promise!! 😀 Reminds me of how it took a good FIVE YEARS for me to start receiving mail from my father with my married name, instead of my maiden one.

  2. Hehe – the form was already filled in from last time ;).

    I’m following the blogs of a number of CBA agents and they’ve said that Writer’s Edge is fine and legit but that they really don’t get near as many books from them as they’d like people to think [not that they misrepresent but that publishers really don’t pick many from them at all – agents are by far the largest source]. I have a list of the top CBA agents – there’s only about 15 of them who do 95% of CBA books and not all of them are accepting unsolicited manuscripts – and will start querying most of those that are in the next few weeks. I won’t query the ones I’m planning on meeting with at the writer’s conference I’m planning on attending in November b/c I’ll just see them there and don’t want to have been rejected by them before I get there ;).

Leave a Reply

