My own mini-blog carnival. Because I can.

Six things that have struck me or interested me in recent weeks, with no theme:

  1. For those of you who asked me, via comment or e-mail, for the reading list of recommendations from my friend Kathy, it’s here!  (I mentioned it in a post where I lamented the state of current teen fiction.)  My precious friend Kathy posted an intro to her list of 100 or so pre-teen and teen books, as well as a handy, printable pdf, with title, author, and a wee commentary on each one!!  (from the P14 Ministries blog)
  2. For those of you, like me, who have been alternately intrigued and frustrated by the recent upsurge in Gluten-Free Everything:  A great (and fairly lengthy) look at the pros and cons of the recent trendiness of the gluten-free diet.  (from the Triumph Dining blog)
  3. Please read this beautifully written paean to family and the Midwest entitled Has the Mail Gone? by Cloth Mother upon the passing of her beloved 94-year-old grandmother.  As I was reading it, I thought, “This woman must have lived in Illinois.”  I pulled out a map Google-mapped a town name, and sure enough… right in the heart of the farm country in which my parents were raised.  When I took my children to Illinois 3½ years ago, on our way back to the airport, from Quincy to Chicago, I purposefully avoided large highways and instead, meandered, taking every teensy two-lane blacktop, passing through small town after small town, treasuring the scenery and the ambiance of the land that tugs so at my heart.  Of all the hamlets through which we passed, my favorite was a little spot called Henry.  I could easily imagine myself there, raising a family in a century-old two-story on a sleepy, tree-lined avenue.  It took a considerable amount of strength and a sharp intake of breath to drive away from Henry…  Henry is only about four miles up the Illinois River from the author’s town of Lacon.  Feeling a connection there, and because the piece was so beautifully written, I felt like I had to comment.  But, I didn’t.  The story was so personal, and all the commenters knew Grandma Florence.  But, reading the story will make you wish she had been your grandmother, too.
  4. I must confess that I am not particularly emotional.  I mean, I have emotions, but I don’t cry easily, and I don’t really enjoy crying.  However, I simply wept at this post by Nicole Deggins, and I absolutely did not regret it.  Nicole, a certified nurse midwife, wrote a searingly honest account of her unexpected pregnancy, then the loss of her hours-old baby daughter, whom she nicknamed Peanut, birthed at 24 weeks’ gestation.  (I have loved Nicole’s blog for more than a year… two years?… and am angry, actually, that an organization which has a copyrighted name similar to that of her blog, sued her, and now she has to disband the blog.)
  5. I have recently felt compelled to stop lamenting how few ingredients that my 22-month-old daughter can eat, and stop using that as an excuse to not be creative with Fiala-safe ingredients in the kitchen.  When most grains, corn, rice, potatoes, most fruits, a great many vegetables, most meats, dairy, and even most herbs and seasonings are off the ingredient-list, I’ve found it too easy to resort to the few things that I know she can have, like blueberry oatmeal with cinnamon and farinata with fresh rosemary, each of which she has virtually every day of her life.  This post by Kimberly at Affairs of Living really inspired me.  It’s for grain-free Chocolate Pumpkinseed Bread.  Now, Fiala can’t yet have either chocolate or pumpkin seeds (and yes, I’ve tried both).  However, reading about the bread, and looking at the scrumptious results of the recipe — not to mention her link to the corn-free baking powder recipe — really kicked me in the culinary rear, so to speak… it got the wheels turning, and I’m starting to look at what is POSSIBLE on Fiala’s diet, rather than just biding my time until she can eat more.
  6. I have been a reader of Living and Learning for a couple of years.  Sue is a homeschooling mother of four, married to a native of Japan.  She blogs with beauty, honesty, graciousness, and a bit of whimsy.  I find myself refreshed by her writing.  I had never had much interest in visiting Japan before reading her blog…  However, I find myself very compelled by her photography of the flora and landscape of the area around her home, not to mention the stories of her family.  This Summer Check-In post is typical:  filled with lovely photos, family togetherness, and things of interest — even peculiarity — to an American who has really no other acquaintance with Japan.

Click and enjoy!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 28, 2010, in Babies, Birth, Blogging, Books for children, Celiac Disease, Family, gluten-free, Interesting Websites, Memories, Pregnancy, Random Stuff, Sad Things, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

