Another Sunday summer afternoon (soon to be over!!)

Here in the desert, everyone gets stir-crazy ’round this time of year.  Truly, unless you’re doing something water-oriented, there are about four solid months when you just cannot take a step outdoors.

Each morning, I try for a few minutes (my goal is 30 minutes… it’s usually more like 5 or 10 before someone pops their head out the back door) of peace outside on the back patio — praying, reading Scripture, watching birds, hoping for a fresh breeze…  From May through August, even at 7 a.m., it’s over 90°F, many times significantly warmer.  It’s hot in the summer, but I encourage myself by thinking, “It’s going to be so much hotter in a just a few hours.  Enjoy the warmth before it turns into unbearable heat.”  Thus tricked into believing that 95° isn’t so bad, I stay outside.

We all simply long… Or, maybe it’s just me.  *I* just long for the days to cool, so that we can spend time outdoors without it feeling like a blast furnace.  I don’t like being cooped up indoors, and I don’t like my kids to be, either.

This was taken by my hubby, yesterday early evening, as I was trying to prepare dinner quickly.  The best remedy to the constant interruptions proved to be taking the kids to the park.  🙂  They came back hot and sweaty, but at least it was do-able.

Audrey in the sand

This morning, per the 7:00 regimen, I stepped outdoors.  Then with a wee jolt, stepped back in.  Then, out.  Then, back in.  Could it be??  Is the outside actually cooler than the inside?? (We keep the thermostat at 79°.)

Ah, hope.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 30, 2010, in Arizona, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Weather. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am SO with you on wishing for the end of summer.

  2. Great picture.

  3. You could also look at it this way… You have 4 months of unbearable heat but 8 months of fairly temperate weather, right? If you lived where I do, you would have about 6 months of warm/hot weather and 6 months where you would have to bundle up in several layers(to differing degrees) every time you go outside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

