Busy Women’s Tools (a sort-of meme)

My friend Kathy wrote a post about the tools we use, as women, to make our life more effective. As she wrote, a tool can be “cleaning supplies, kitchen equipment, personal products, gardening tools, websites, books, or anything you depend on to keep your life running smoothly.”

After I enjoyed reading her post (and her list of nine tools) and the comments of others, I thought this would be a cool meme-type thing.  If you are interested in participating, PLEASE DO!  Post a comment here AND at Kathy’s blog, too, with a link to your response.  If you don’t have a blog, just write out your list here and/or at Kathy’s.

For now, here are the ones that sprang immediately to mind.  I’m sure I’ll think of others after I’ve posted this!

  1. (Similar to a couple of Kathy’s commenters) I love my Dyson! It’s nearly 5 years old, and I am *STILL* amazed at how much dirt, dog hair, and crumbs that it sucks out of our carpet.
  2. And my Crockpot. (This past Christmas, I upgraded to a larger model, after 14 years with the same one…)
  3. RSS feeds! Seriously. They do the searching for you. I have several that I keep going, to search Craigslist automatically for things that I would like to purchase, eventually (like an entertainment center and a wooden backyard playset).
  4. A chore list for my kids. I first started this about 2.5 years ago, and I wonder why I waited so long. Each child has between 20 minutes and an hour of chores that they do each day. I don’t need to nag (usually). They just check the list and do it! Just in general, learning to teach my children how to work, then delegating responsibility to them has really revolutionized our home. Sure, they don’t do things as well as I would do them, but a job done 75% of “best” is still a whole lot more than it would get done, if I had to do it all myself.
  5. www.allrecipes.com I love that site. I do make a ton of things from scratch, but if there’s something I need to make — like a cheesecake — and I just can’t wing it, I always search out www.allrecipes.com.
  6. A physical calendar on the wall in my kitchen. I know most everyone has stuff on mobile devices, but I don’t have a smart phone… 🙂 I like being able to glance out at the day, or week, or month, and know what’s ahead.
  7. Lists. Again, this is just on a folded sheet of printer paper that I keep on my countertop. There’s space for Fry’s (or Bashas’), Sprouts, TJ’s, Lee Lee, Target, Costco, and misc. That way, at a glance, I can see which stores I’m going to need to visit this week, and plan that way. There’s only two things on the Target list? I can wait until next week. But six things on the Sprouts list? I’ll need to go, next shopping trip.
  8. I adore my Le Creuset square cast iron griddle. It was a gift from my mom a few years ago, and I use it literally every day. From farinata to pancakes to lamb chops — just about everything has been cooked or baked in that pan.
  9. The “hold” list on my library card, and with that, the library’s website. I used to think, “Oh, I should read that!” and then, I’d forget, or my local branch wouldn’t have it, or I wouldn’t have the $$ to purchase. Now, I just pop over to the library website, do a search, and place the item on hold. Then, when we go (almost every Friday), I head first for the hold shelf, and there are my books, waiting for me. It saves a ton of time. 🙂 Also, that way I don’t have to take my wee ones into the “grown-up” section of the library and keep shushing them.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 1, 2010, in Housework, Memes, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh — great list Karen! I am adding them to my “to get or to do” list right away! 😉

    • Well, apparently, you can’t get the same griddle as mine! 🙂 I did a search, and it must be long-discontinued, which is a shame. Mine has a non-enameled cook surface, and is only about 1/2″ deep, sort of like a crepe pan.

      And I don’t think Bruce would be all that thrilled witha chore list. (JUST KIDDING! — but I am laughing!)

      • LOL! The chore list is long since gone from our house – but we did use one! I’ll just have to hunt around for a grill – my preference is an electronic one – grill on one side, smooth on the other. Does such a thing exist? And, I will be asking you how to do the RSS feed thingy ma-bob. 🙂 Love you!

  2. Love the rss feeds! especially for craigslist. Though I often find that the delay between a new post appearing on the site and appearing in my feed means that I lose out on a lot of deals. I can’t tell you how many Kelty Baby Backpack thingys I missed out on before I finally just bought a used one at Hissyfits.

Leave a Reply

