Backyard birding (or, the birds think it’s winter!)

  • I would make fun of this name, if I wasn’t a birder:  Red-naped Sapsucker.  Yes, that’s a real name.  And, yes, he sucks sap.  I’ve been enjoying one in my back yard for about a week.  It’s the first time I’ve seen on in the Phoenix area.

    (not my photo!!)

  • After the demise of my hummingbird feeder, my dear husband bought me another, as a surprise.  I haven’t hung it up yet;  I think I’m going to attach it to a limb of a tree in our back yard, so it doesn’t drip sweet goo on the back patio.  It’s lovely copper with a real glass container.  🙂
  • I’m also happy for the return of Say’s Phoebes.  Occasionally, I see a Say’s during the summer, but they’re much more common in the winter.  Not that it’s really winter here, yet.  They’re not really exciting birds, but they’re… peaceful.  Peaceful birds.  And, I like their gentle-but-clear whistled call.

    Photo by Peter Basterfield

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 12, 2010, in birding, Life in the Desert. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

