Fledgling garden plans, free Triumph Dining cards, and Christian persecution in Pakistan

  • Yoeme Purple String Beans

    I am slowly working on planning my garden for the spring.  In Phoenix, that means starting seeds in January and planting in late February.  I am planning on getting most of my seeds from Native Seeds, which, among other projects, sells seeds, well, native to the Southwest desert — northern Mexico, New Mexico, western Texas, and Arizona.  It looks like I’ll be able to plant beans, tomatillos, tomatoes, squash, chilis, and not much else if I want to go 100% native.  I guess that shouldn’t surprise me.  It IS the desert, and not much grows here.  They also sell heirloom seeds that were introduced to the area from Spain 200+ years ago…  And corn.  I can plant corn, but that’s a later planting, like in July-ish.

  • Well, that was easy.  I have semi-wanted a set of Triumph Dining’s laminated restaurant cards… but not enough to pay the $10.95 price tag, as I have successfully “winged it” lo these past eight years.  Then, I get alerted to an online voting site for Triumph’s Best of Gluten-Free Awards.  In exchange for participating (and signing up for Triumph Dining’s very helpful newsletter, to which I was already subscribed), the first 2,000, myself now among them, receive a pack of the laminated cards for free.  It was really fast, especially considering that I did a copy and paste of “I don’t purchase these items”, which was applicable for about a third of the 42 categories, as all 42 are regarding ready-made gluten-free grocery items, or restaurants with gluten-free menu options.  That was my only wish:  That there was a “not applicable” selection for each category.  Still, even with its imperfections, the polling was easy, and I’m happy to have “earned” my cards.  🙂
  • I was alerted to this by my dear cousin, who is a nun:  A Christian Pakistani woman defended her faith to co-workers who were claiming that Christianity is a “false religion.” Days later, she was taken into custody and jailed, tried, and convicted for blasphemy, and is now facing the death penalty.  If you follow the link, do watch the short video from her husband (and Voice of the Martyrs), appealing for prayer.  Even Pope Benedict is working for her release.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 19, 2010, in Christian Living, Christianity, Desert Gardening, Gluten-Free and Food Allergy Resources, God/Christianity/Church. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

