Kitten balls, and a peek into parenting an Aspie child.

A few minutes ago, getting Fiala ready for a nap, she spied some white fluff on the bathroom sink.  “Mama, may I have a sof’, sof’ kitten ball?”

I hand one to her, correcting with a hearty laugh, “They’re cotton balls, not kitten balls.”

She gives me a mischievous look, grinning while stroking her cheek with the “kitten” ball, “Mee-ow, mee-ow.”

🙂

And this is awesome.  I could easily see myself having a very similar conversation with Grant.  (My son Grant has a learning disorder that is very much akin to Asperger’s Syndrome.  It’s called Nonverbal Learning Disorder, and it’s like Asperger’s MINUS obsessions, but with the ADDITION of fine and gross motor skill issues.  He was diagnosed when he was four, and is now 11.)

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 22, 2010, in Family, Funny Stuff, Motherhood, Nonverbal Learning Disorder, Parenting, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a precious video! I love their relationship!

  2. What a charming post! I am struck by how much this is similar to dealing with a gifted and talented (GATE) child. Both of our girls had qualities like these and I believe the ‘tell the truth’ parenting held true here as well! Our eldest charmed me with ‘riving loom’ as a 4 yr old. We owned one of her great grandmother’s weaving looms and it was in our living room, therefore…. She was (and at 30 years old!) still is angry with me for not correcting her! Baby sister made me cry when her Gramadel died when she was in 5th grade. She wrote an essay for her middle school English teacher a couple of years later discussing honesty. She talked of my sucking in a deep breath and telling her, yes, Grandma was dying of cancer and how sad we were, but how she could treat her and be with her before the event. Wow.

    • Your daughters sound similar to my son! In many ways, Grant is “gifted and talented”. His developmental pediatrician estimates his IQ to be around 170, and encourages me that the good thing about NLD is that most children with it have such high (book) intelligence that, if given the right opportunities, they can LEARN many of the social skills that come naturally to most others. Similar to the “riving loom”, we have a family friend named Nancy. Grant mispronounced NOTHING, so when he mistakenly started calling her “Mancy”, I did not correct him, but delighted at the teensy error. When he discovered that her real name started with an “N”, he was shocked and genuinely hurt — for YEARS — that I would let him mispronounce it. He felt humiliated. He was three years old.

      I, too, love gentle honesty with children. Someone I know discovered that his daughter really liked chicken, so they started calling every meat “chicken” to get her to eat it. I know that seems silly, perhaps, but I just don’t agree with even subtly manipulating children by telling them lies and misinformation… Obviously, the way you handled the death of your mother (husband’s mother?) positively impacted your girl… 🙂 Good job.

Leave a Reply

