Poetic birding, summer plans, and a million trips to the potty

  • There are Lesser Nighthawks all over my neighborhood, mostly in the summer.   They wheel in the air close to the streetlights, and rest on the road (!), camouflaged on the asphalt, frequently rising in a flurry of feathers as a car drives by.  I went for a walk with my youngest daughter around sunset last night, and heard what seemed to be two different Lessers calling to each other, but I didn’t see them.  (I’m on a birding listserv, and a guy posted about seeing a Lesser Nighthawk last night.  I replied with this, and after I had written it, I re-read it, and it sounded poetic.)
  • I am very excited to have booked at least part of our summer

    At Limekiln, you get THIS...

    vacation!!  I have wanted to go to California’s Limekiln State Park for a good five years, and this summer it appears that I’m going to get my wish!  My dear hubby is a very linear thinker, and wants to have A, B, and C done and tied neatly with a bow before moving on to D, E, and F.  In other words,he does NOT like to plan ahead, because then there are a million half-done, tentative things hanging around in his brain, and it drives him batty. Additionally,being that we live in the scenic and wonderful state of Arizona, he sees little need to venture out of our borders, with the possible exception of Colorado, since his brother lives there.

    ...only a few hundred feet from THIS.

    He’s NOT into driving long distances.  So, my planning has been made with extra thankfulness for him agreeing — well in advance — to plan for and book a trip that he’s not all that sure is going to be worth the tedium of driving for two days…

  • Fiala, my 26 month old, is potty-training.  She’s doing well!  Mostly, that is.  She even went to church yesterday without a diaper, and stayed dry all day.  She still has to be taken to the potty every 30 minutes or so, though.  When she says, “I fuh-uhgot to go potty!” that means, “I’m wet!”  This morning, I was doing a school with Wesley, and didn’t want to be interrupted to take yet another trip to the bathroom.  So, on a whim, I asked my four-year-old, Audrey, if she would take her.  A few minutes later, they came back, flushed and grinning with triumph, and both very aware of the novelty.  Next up:  Audrey makes dinner for our family of seven and runs a few loads of laundry.  😛
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 17, 2011, in birding, Summer Plans, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Travelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That last sentence made me laugh out loud!!!!!!

  2. I frequently send my 2 preschoolers to the bathroom with their older same gender buddy. There just aren’t enough hours in the day, it seems, for their 7 billion potty trips. LOL
    They’ve yet to cook or clean though!! 😉
    Although, I did get this the other day.
    Me: Nick, (age 11) I’m going to take a bath. Be back in 20 minutes.
    10 minutes into it I get
    Nick: Mom!
    me: Yeah?
    Nick: Gabe needs you.
    Why?
    Nick: He had to potty.
    Me: Yeah, and?
    Nick: He needs wiping. He pooed!
    Me: Kid, I’m kinda wet and, you know, not dressed. Can you just hand him the wipes and make sure he’s clean.
    Nick: Wiping butts isn’t on the big brother list.

    He did, just for the record, help his poor little brother off the potty. It’s amazing what you, as a family unit, will learn to handle when you just have to.

  3. I have never been to the west coast – unless you count Portland airport, and LAX. That looks like a lovely summer vacation in the making! I do so want to pause (and linger!) over there some day on our way to visit our family in the southeast.

    How wonderful that Fiala is doing so well with her potty training – and so cute that Audrey is her new helper!

Leave a Reply

