Answering your questions

I had this post about halfway done, and WordPress ate it.  I was trying to insert a picture, and the picture wouldn’t insert, so I had the post with no picture.  Then, I finally got the pic to show up, but the text had evaporated!  Argh!

I will try again.

I used to be enamored with my Stats page, especially the part that keeps track of search terms that people use to find my blog.  Some of them are odd, some baffling, some funny.  But, most of them are along the lines of

gfcf lunches for kids
teething out of order
rice milk recipe
amo amas amat
gluten free sugar cookie recipe

I popped over there today, though, to see what folks have been asking lately, and thought I’d try answering a few.

  1. “post blueberry morning cereal gluten free”  NO.  Since wholegrain wheat is the third ingredient AND Blueberry Morning contains malted barley syrup, it is certainly not gluten-free.  However, as of 22 Dec 2010, Post has changed its manufacturing process and ingredients to ensure that Cocoa Pebbles and Fruity Pebbles are gluten-free.  It has also reduced the grams of sugar per serving from 11 to 9.  (Make certain your purchase is the NEW box, labelled as gluten-free.)  Pebbles wouldn’t be my first choice for a makeover, but at least Post is trying.
  2. sonlight verses rod and staff”  I’ll assume you mean versus.  R&S is a very traditional, solid, wholly Christian curriculum, unapologetic for its “old-fashioned” style of education, and unashamed of its Christianity.  It’s a good choice for families from very conservative backgrounds who want a traditional text-based education for their children, especially for those in grades 2-8.  Sonlight is a Christian company, but not nearly as dogmatic, not nearly as “Amero-centric” as R&S, and literature-based.  I think Sonlight’s 27 Reasons NOT to Buy Sonlight is brilliant.  Read it, and that’ll likely lend to your decision-making process.  We’ve used a bit of R&S English (effective, but boring) in our nine years of homeschooling, but the heart of our homeschooling is from Sonlight.
  3. So not ugly.

    homeschoolers are ugly”  REALLY?  Audrey doesn’t agree.

  4. toilet paper nick names”  WHAT???  And, how did Google choose to direct the searcher to MY blog with THAT term??  Oh.  That’s how.
  5. can dogs be “allergic to carob””  I have no idea.  I’m guessing they could be, though.  My son Wesley was really allergic to carob for a number of years… five or so… until he grew out of it.  Carob and carob bean gum is a surprisingly frequent ingredient!  I wonder what a dog’s symptoms would be…
  6. i voted mccain”  Why, yes.  Yes, I did.  I still think he would have been a better president than our current one, whose name shall not be named on my blog.
  7. where is the hassayampa river”  It flows through the town of Wickenburg, in west-central Arizona, mostly underground.
  8. how do you pronouce celiac”  SILLY-yak.
  9. can barley cause eczema”  Pretty much anything can cause eczema.  You may want to check into dermatitis herpetiformis, which is a skin condition that can be misdiagnosed as eczema.  It is caused by an autoimmune reaction to gluten, and barley contains gluten.
  10. natural childbirth in a hospital”  YOU CAN DO IT!!  I’ve done it five times over.  However, states vary widely as to what they typically allow — hospitals in most states in the West are more apt to give their patients their rights.  However, you must choose your doctor or CNM (certified nurse midwife — many have hospital privileges, or work within an OBGYN practice, and some hospitals staff them) well.  Do your research!!  Also, take Bradley classes, not only for the instruction, but to develop a support system for birthing naturally in a hospital, and to be able to network to get suggestions for naturally-minded doctors, doulas, etc.  If nothing else, PLEASE watch this series of short videosE-mail me privately if you want a few additional tips.  🙂
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 5, 2011, in Allergies, Birth, Blogging, Celiac Disease, gluten-free, Homeschooling, Random Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. OK, I’m just appalled at #3! And I soooo agree with your answer! (Audrey is the poster child for cuteness! 😉 )

    ~Michelle

  2. Very entertaining!

    Most of my blog searches are for some form of “that caviar is a garnish” which links them to that ettiquette post that stirred up so much trouble for me! 🙂

  3. Verses [smile]. I grin because I’ve done things like that… on my blog… for the world to see [smile].

    And, yes, it’s a bummer that Blueberry Morning isn’t gluten free. Of course, I don’t get cereal much anyway. Well, some granola here and there when it’s on sale as an afternoon snack.

    And, yes, while I certainly have had my awkward phases of being less than adorable–which probably peaked around high school, when I was in public school–there are plenty of examples of the attractiveness of homeschoolers. …not totally sure why that matters much, but if it does, we still win [laughing].

    ~Luke

Leave a Reply

