My mother-in-law. Spring cleaning. Dog. Curriculum. Music. Celiac disease & fertility issues.

  • My mother-in-law is in town.  I wish she lived with us.  She is so easy to get along with, and we seem to balance well our personal desire to be together with personal need for space.  She comes in her RV and sleeps there at night, as well as retiring for an afternoon of reading or watching movies.  She helps with the little girls during school, and is liable to do everyone’s chores for them unless I speak up.  She likes my cooking.  Our dogs get along.  It’s a perfect fit.  She arrived last week when I was up to my elbows in spring cleaning…
  • Speaking of, I am SO HAPPY to have accomplished LOADS during my official spring cleaning week.  I used the shampooer to clean three fully upholstered chairs, eight dining chair seats, and one big couch.  I also scrubbed most walls in our home from eye-level down and vacuumed them from eye-level, up.  Vacuumed vents, cleaned baseboards, cleaned out the fridge…  With the kids and my MIL helping, we also cleaned all the wooden blinds in our home, all the ceiling fans, all the doors and doorjambs, some windows, most cabinet faces, dusted and polished most of the stuff in our home…  Though there are still things left to do on my list, I’m really pleased with how much we accomplished.
  • Have I ever posted anything about Virgil here?  He’s an Old English Bulldog, less than a year old, so ugly he’s cute.  We’re keeping him until his (second) owners get their own place.  The home where he was living, Virgil was having trouble with the alpha dog, so he needed to get out ASAP.  I loved Virgil.  Now, after having him almost 2½ months, I’m looking forward to his departure.  No matter how fabulous a dog is, I discovered quite quickly that my adoration for the creature decreases at the same rate as the number of times I have to clean up his poop in my bedroom.
  • GOD PROVIDES!!  My oldest son, Ethan, will be in 9th grade in the fall.  Even though I just purchased (used, smokin’ deal) Sonlight Core 5, I decided, upon scoping out the high school curricula Sonlight offers, that I would need to scrap that and just start one of the high school Cores, come the end of August.  I decided against starting with Core 100 (which is American History in Depth, because we just finished with American History) in favor of Core 200, the History of God’s Kingdom.  However, a whole new Core was NOT in the budget, and I just didn’t know what I was going to do.  Then, last week, a friend whose son will also be a freshman next school year, asked me what I planned on doing with Ethan.  I lamented, pouring out to her my plan and lack of funding for it.  She said, “Well, I had come today, planning on offering my Core 200 to you, if you wanted to borrow it.  It was a little over Jacob’s head for 8th grade, but should be perfect for Ethan in 9th.  I learned a whole lot, too!”  WOW!  And, it turns out she needs Core 3, which I am currently doing with my 9-year-old.  I’ll pass the stuff down to her as I complete it with Wesley.  Perfect!!  I cried, off and on, all week, just at the thought of how intimately God knows our needs, and how He is working on caring for them, well before we even have an inkling of His intentions.
  • Music:  Band of Horses.  A friend (more like a fond acquaintance) from high school, whose taste in music I respect, kept recommending Band of Horses.  I saw it at the library, and checked out the CD, Infinite Arms, ’cause I’m old school like that.  Although I really liked the instrumentation (banjos!  acoustic guitar!  lush string arrangements!), I wasn’t too keen on the late 70s/early 80s vocal vibe they have.  My son Ethan, though, loves it, saying, “This music makes me happy and sad at the same time.”  It’s growing on me, big time.  Very memorable melodies, wistful without being angsty.  (I’m so over angst in my music.)
  • Lastly, I thought this may be of interest to some.  I had read, long ago, that women with celiac disease frequently have infertility issues.  But, did you know that some studies have shown that pregnant women with undiagnosed celiac disease are up to NINE TIMES more likely to miscarry??  Other studies have shown more conservative numbers, but still, across the board, the risk is high. Men are not immune, either.  If I’m understanding the numbers correctly, about 12% of men with undiagnosed/untreated celiac disease are sterile, due to poor sperm motility and androgen resistance, both of which are healed/fixed on a gluten-free diet.  Wow.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 9, 2011, in Introspective Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Well, you clearly haven’t experienced infertility because of celiac… 🙂

    • So glad to have stumbled upon your blog. We use Sonlight (I need to place my order soon) and I can’t eat gluten. I discovered this a year ago. Unfortunately, I live in a small town of Dr’s that refuse to test for Celiac. They much prefer the IBS (and drug, drug, drug) diagnosis. My wonderful private Dr (a DO) insisted that I skip seeking a diagnosis and just go GLUTEN-FREE! It has made a drastic change in my life. (BTW: suffered 5 years of infertility and miscarriage years ago.)

      Long story….but so glad to blogmeet you!

      • Not a long story at all!! I welcome lengthy comments. 😉 I don’t even think yours qualifies for “lengthy”!!

        When my own doc (also a DO) would only give me a “presumed” diagnosis due to cessation of symptoms, and due to the fact that I refused to go BACK on gluten to get a better reading of my bloodwork (which came back inconclusive), my OB highly encouraged me to avoid a definitive diagnosis and just go g.f., as well. He’d known me for years, and could see a major turnaround in my health, and said that all a definitive diagnosis would do would be to label me for life, and possibly make insurance difficult or impossible in years to come. I do still believe that there are benefits from a “real” diagnosis, but for now (and probably forever), I’ll be completely happy with my “presumed” dx, eight years and counting!!

  2. How funny to stumble upon another SL homeschooler when I’m searching for gluten-free breakfast ideas!

    • Thanks for the comment, Elizabeth!! This particular post is about 18 months old, but we’re still going strong with both homeschooling with Sonlight, and eating gluten-free. 🙂 Welcome!

  3. Hi I read your blog on homeschool kindergarten and all the things you have recommended. It looks very good but i just want to know if you buy used stuff then does that mean other people have worked with them before? Is there gonna be other people’s writing inside? Also i went to five in a rows website and i cannot order anything on the order page!!! Any ideas?

    Thanks…I am going to homeschool my 5 year old son for kindergarten.

Leave a Reply

