Braces, blogging about teen children, writing, reading, worship, and the Arizona “beach”

  • My oldest, Ethan, just had a lunch that consisted of refried beans with cheese melted on them, and a glass of milk.  What the rest of us were eating (which included, among other things, baby carrots) didn’t work.  Duh.  I’ll have to get used to considering the Sore Mouth Factor when figuring out meals for him/us.  He got bands placed between his molars this morning, in preparation for the first of his braces, which will be put on in about two weeks.
  • Speaking of Ethan…  A few years ago, I was wondering why I wasn’t getting more great parenting stories, ideas, and tips from those of my bloggy friends who have children a few years older than mine.  “Why isn’t anyone writing about those tumultuous teen years??”  Well, I figured it out.  At nearly 14, my son is now a… sentient being.  The smaller a child is, the more freely you can talk about personal issues:  An 18 month old isn’t going to get her feelings hurt that you divulged mothering struggles to your friends.  (Or strangers, as the case may be, in a blog.)  Your 13 year old?  Definitely.  So, I’ve learned that I can say virtually nothing about my son online, because I want to honor his privacy.  He’s wonderful, but you’ll just have to take my word for it.  😉
  • And, where have I been the last month or so?  Working hard on ghostwriting.  More info on that, coming soon.  😀
  • In my head, I keep composing a post on how vastly different I look with makeup vs. without it, and various thoughts on painting the barn when it needs painting.  Maybe I’ll get around to it some day…
  • I’ve been reading a lot!  Lately, I’ve been working through Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series, which is a curious mixture of historical fiction, literary mystery, Biblical scholarship, and feminism.  Very interesting.  When reading any series, I simply must go chronologically, so I’m on the 5th book in the series currently, O Jerusalem.
  • I have a job!  I mean, I’m re-employed!  Or, something…  I’m happy that, this week, I start leading small group worship again.  There was some shifting in small groups, and I was out of a “job” for about six or seven weeks.  It felt like a long time, but it was good to go to a small group and “just” be a participant.
  • Homeschooling 101:  You can take trips on a school day to just about anywhere and call it a field trip.  😉  I took my kids last Friday to the Santa Maria River.  My mother-in-law came with, which was great;  she’s a perfect road-trip partner.  The kids did so well for the eight hours we were gone, other than the first three miles of the trip.  After listening to about five minutes of continuous bickering, I risked my MIL’s esteem by pulling over to the side of the road to chew everyone out.  Chewing out the kids, that is.  Not her.  On the way out*, we took a scenic route, partially by (well-maintained) dirt road, which is probably my favorite or second-favorite Arizona drive**.  On the way back, we took all blacktops, which took two hours and saved us 30 minutes, even though, mileage-wise, it was slightly longer.  The river is NW of Wickenburg, and when there’s adequate water, it’s about as close as we get to the beach, here in Arizona.  The water does not run all the time, so I get USGS alerts for when the water is 10 cubic feet per second or greater.  The pics below were when the water was at about 60 cfps.  We played in an area just where the AZ 96 (my fave road in all of AZ) crosses the river, about 15 miles SE of Bagdad.  The temps were in the high 70s, with a strong sun and cool breezes.  It was perfect.

I have some better pics, too, but everything I post here needs to be 100% modest and fully-clad, so those are a no-go for the blogosphere.  🙂

————————–

*The route we took OUT was Carefree Hwy (AZ 74) west to US 60.  US 60 northwest for only six miles to the point where it meets up with the US 93.  US 93 NW to AZ 89.  AZ 89 north-ish to Date Creek Road, which is 20+ miles of scenic and hilly dirt road.  Then, AZ 96 west to the point where it crosses the Santa Maria.  The route we took BACK was AZ 96 about 10 miles further west (bypassing, incidentally, my beloved Santa Maria River road, another extremely scenic dirt drive, because I was outvoted by my children).  Then, traveled SW sixteen miles on two-lane hilly, beautiful, remote blacktop of the AZ 97.  Then, SE on the US 93, which meets back up with the US 60, then back home.

**My all-time favorite Arizona drive is likely the long, -shaped drive to get to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, which follows the high desert and Navajo Reservation along the US 89 and US 89A (at the point north of where it intersects with the US 160), along the stunning Echo Cliffs and Vermilion Cliffs, then climbs rapidly up to the Kaibab Plateau and the AZ 69, which goes south along verdant, alpine meadow lush with wildlife (deer and bison).  Unparalleled, and remote enough to be sparsely populated, which is just how I like it.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 16, 2011, in Arizona, Blogging, Books I'm Reading, Family, Homeschooling, Life in the Desert, Loving Nature!, The Kids, Travelling, Weather, Worship, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. My son, at the tender age of 10, is the same way. I try to guard carefully what I blog so that he will never feel embarrassed, but only loved.

    I look forward to seeing more about this ghost writing soon.

    Love the photos! Too fun.

  2. Ahh, blogging about teens. This is why I started a new blog – where I am anonymous, so I can post about my teen. I haven’t quite started yet, as I am feel like I need to introduce my whole family, but he was the big reason I started a new blog!

  3. Is that Fiala that your holding? Her face is so clear. it looks fabulous!

    • I was going to say the same thing, she looks great! She’s always been cute, but her skin looks like it’s doing really well.

    • Yes, it is, Christy! She still has problems with LOTS of foods, and is still on an extremely limited diet, but we are making headway. She has a little bad patch under her chin, and mild/moderate eczema on her whole body, but since December, she’s had no oozy, raw lesion areas. New mattress + daily vitamin D + new laundry soap + prayer has made a world of difference!

  4. I blog about my oldest daughter all the time (with her permission of course). She’s 21 now, but from the years of 13 to about 16, she was a troubled teen getting involved in cutting, drugs, attempted suicide etc., so when I started my blog I had no idea what to blog about, so I talked with her & she said she was okay with me blogging about what she did, why she did it, how we dealt with it, etc. (She’s wanting to be a youth minister to help other teens going through what she went through). And from that, I started blogging about dangerous teen trends (not all of which my daughter was involved in). But I wouldn’t have blogged about any of this if she had told me not to.

  1. Pingback: Blogging about Teens « Legos and Lightsabers

Leave a Reply

