Good news/Bad news about health (and education)

In order for my husband’s insurance not to increase by 15%, I have to get a yearly health assessment, including blood work, then go online and answer a very lengthy and intrusive questionnaire regarding my physical and mental well-being and habits.  (I’m trying to mentally set aside the corporate manipulation, out of necessity…  “What are they doing with that info?” I wonder.  “Is it really a risk-assessment thing?  Does our income really relate to our health?  Couldn’t someone super-easily fudge these answers?  It stinks that we are compelled to answer these questions.”  I would say that I’m normally not paranoid, but giving that much personal information might tip me over the edge.)

Last year, I scored a 96/100, this year 98/100.  I think that exercising more was the key to the improved score.

However, here’s what’s weird/scary to me:  I felt rather like I did when my kids scored Post High School on a nationally standardized test (at ages 10 and 12).  I mean, it’s fabulous, and I’m pleased… but the fact is that both tests are comparative ones.  They assess how well you do in relation to how others do;  they’re not pure assessments in the order of, “Are you doing the best you can?”  Because with both school and my health, I would have to say that I’m not at 98% effort.  I eat well (not perfectly, but healthily), I have crazy-low blood pressure and cholesterol (genetic, since I eat a ton of red meat), I eke into the “normal” range of BMI

I’m happy for being given an “A” for health… but that’s what’s scary to me.  If I’m at a 98% compared to other 38 year old women in America, then it’s not so much that I’m doing fantastically;  it’s that America’s health is in the tank.  Same with my sons’ test scores:  It’s not that they’re doing so amazingly — although they’re doing well;  it’s that America’s education system is in the tank.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Health, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yeah, saying, “I’m great compared with others” doesn’t make me feel that good, unfortunately.

    But, since they are grading that way and you know you are doing so well (compared to others) time to go eat a pint of ice cream and put your feet up. 🙂

  2. I have CRAZY low cholesterol too but I have been recently told it is not that healthy because you need cholesterol to be around 160-180. Here is a post:
    http://whattofeedyourkids.blogspot.com/2009/11/cholesterol-not-what-you-think.html

    • Kirstin, I’d really be interested in reading the article you linked to on your blog. The link isn’t working for me, though.

      Maybe the article addresses this, but I don’t know how I could possibly get higher cholesterol. I mean, I eat LOADS of red meat, cheese, eggs… cholesterol-laden foods. But, I also eat TONS of whole grains, fresh fruits and veggies, etc.

      And are you a Weston A. Price follower?

      Wait! Just searched the website and found the right link: http://www.westonaprice.org/know-your-fats/531-cholesterol-friend-or-foe I’ll have to read it on Monday. It’s late and I need to fold more laundry before I go to bed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

