“It probably sucks.”

My husband put on a tee last night.  Looking at it — an old concert tee picked up in January, 2006, back before the band became the semi-well-known band it is today — I idly remarked, “Mutemath has a new album coming out.”

He responded, “It probably sucks.”

I love discovering a band whose music simply resonates within me, and then following them as they grow.  It seems that so many of these bands and I grow on a similar trajectory, or that how they change seems “just right” to me…

But there is a special, heart-pricking disappointment when an absolutely beloved group of musicians go down some unwelcome musical path.  Nothing measures up to that first love.  I have wondered if the newer music is really that much worse, or if it’s just that I have too-high expectations.

The best of the bunch. By far. So far.

For the record, in my opinion, Mutemath’s first CD, which was LP-length, entitled Reset, and crafted while they were in obscurity (the members met, by the way, in a church in New Orleans) is promising, brilliant, glorious, unique, and powerful.  It was a fresh mix of guitar-based rock, electronica, mind-blowing drumming, vibrant energy, and God-focused lyrics of beauty and honesty.

Their second release, a major label self-titled “debut” was good, but with some of the spark and power lacking.

It’s been all downhill from there.  A song on the Transformers soundtrack?  Please.  Another on the TWILIGHT soundtrack?  Lordy.  Even worse.  Fame is not worth that.  SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS 2??????  Have you lost your minds????  Armistice??  That was a major let-down.

~sigh~  Maybe Odd Soul will be better.  (The first single was released two days ago, though I can’t listen to it until my sound card gets replaced.)  It’s due out October 4.

And what’s up with the cross lapel pin on the blinded guy?  Hmmm…  Not too sure about that imagery.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Music. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

