Organized moms, unite! Just kidding. I’m not really organized, but I’m trying.

  • This morning, I started a prayer journal.  I have journaled a LOT throughout my life, but I have never had a journal where each page is specifically devoted to one item I’m holding in prayer.  I think it’s going to take a couple of weeks just to write everything down!
  • In other organizational news, I’m trying to become a Motivated Mom.  I paid $4 (half price) for the planner for 2011, choosing the daily full-page version, and printed it off yesterday (well, printed Aug 11 through the end of the year).  I have a love/hate relationship with lists.  I do get more done when I write out what I need to do, yet I feel cowed by all there is to do, and all I don’t get done by the end of the day.  This is someone else’s list, so maybe I’ll do better with that.  🙂
  • I updated my boys’ chore chart.  They each have daily chores, plus items that are done once or twice weekly, assigned for age-appropriateness and skill.   Click here for a PDF if you wanna see how I slave-drive my sons.  (For the record, Ethan is 14, Grant is 12, and Wesley is 9.)
  • Last bit, not anything do do with being organized:  I have a friend from church who gives music lessons.  She can teach violin, flute, saxophone, clarinet, guitar, and keyboard/piano at her home or at yours.  (She can actually teach many more instruments, including brasses, but the six listed are her strongest suit.)  Her name is Leslie Herweg and her number is 616.566.0943.  That’s a Michigan cell phone number, but she is local to the Phoenix area.  43rd Avenue and Northern Ave area.  Her rates are $15 for a half-hour session with one child, or $25 for a session with two children.  🙂
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Christianity, Family, Get Organized!, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can’t wait til my kids are a little older and can help a little more with chores! Right now, Ilona is Fiala’s age and Felix is 15 months, so pretty much all they do so far is help us empty the dishwasher (they LOVE that) and sometimes help us tidy up their toys and help with the hand wash dishes. Ilona also likes to help with all aspects of laundry from sorting to hanging to putting away the folded clothes, but still… It’ll be nice when they can do this stuff without supervision and when they can ACTUALLY do it!

  2. You’re my kind of slave-driver! 🙂

    I make my kids do a lot of chores, too.

Leave a Reply

