Karen the Birth Instructor — almost a reality!!

I have the thumbs-up to teach my first birthing classes!  No, I’ve never formally taught any birth-education classes before — just spent countless hours talking with other mothers-to-be to give them encouragement, help, and direction.  The dear, expectant couple is willing to grant me the experience of teaching classes, and in exchange, I will instruct them for free.

We’ll begin in November.

I will use a combination of materials from Transition to Parenthood, plus my own experience of naturally birthing five children, plus other birthing stuff I’ve gleaned over the years from books and bloggers.

I had so longed to teach the classes, but just this morning, I felt compelled to TOTALLY YIELD the outcome to God — that is, whether or not they would let me be their teacher, even though I have never done any formal classes before.  In my prayer journal I wrote, “…if it doesn’t work out for the two of them, just please help me keep learning and that I wouldn’t be waylaid by dismay, but that I would persevere.”  That happens way too often — becoming discouraged to the point of inaction when my Plan A doesn’t work;  by the grace of God, and His unwillingness to let me stay in that place, I am working to overcome that unhealthy pattern.

Not too long after I journaled that, the expectant mother called me to say that she and her husband had prayed, thought, and talked about it, and have decided to go for it!  Ha!  God does that so often with me:  Wait until I YIELD the outcome, 100%, to Him, before He answers my prayer.

In a follow-up e-mail I sent to the mother, I closed it out with:

Thank you SO MUCH for allowing me the privilege of sharing this amazing and important time with you and [your husband].  I look forward to you becoming amazed and blessed by God’s plan for the birth process, and to be able to go into your delivery with zero fear and enough information to be confident in yourself, and to come out of birth with a gloriously expanded appreciation for our Father, your husband, and in your own abilities.

After I wrote that, I re-read it and thought, “I need to rework that and turn it into a purpose statement for use in the future.”

My favorite book for any expectant mother.

 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Introspective Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Awesome! I’ll pray for you all! What a blessing you will be to them! And what a blessing they are to you to give you such a great experience.

  2. I have an idea! In exchange for you giving me pre-natal classes the next time I get pregnant, I will teach you how to knit. 😀

    • Sounds great!! You let me know when you’re ready for #3. 😀

      • Well, we’re going to start “trying” in November… If it goes like it has with the first two, trying = pregnant on the first try… I have yet to actually attend ANY sort of birthing classes. I wish I had when I was pregnant with Ilona; her birth may have ended up being a lot smoother. My water broke and I went into prodromal labour. Twenty-four hours later I was still only at 1.5 cm, and I hadn’t slept at ALL the previous night, because the contractions were painful enough to keep me awake. My midwife had to take me to the hospital where they augmented me with oxytocin and then my contractions immediately became SO strong and SO painful and I was just so physically and emotionally exhausted from being up all the previous night that I asked for an epidural. I was still able to deliver naturally, but 32 hours of labour was awful. Felix’s birth went way faster (about 6 hours or so once it really got going), but for him I wish I had had a proper birthing coach or doula, because I had to figure out on my own that labouring on my hands and knees, or hanging off of someone’s neck, was much more “comfortable” than labouring on the bed. I spent the first two hours lying on my back literally screaming every time I had a contraction because it hurt so much, but when I was out of bed, I could actually breathe through the contractions. And then the doctor (yes, midwife for my first birth, doctor for my second… long story) broke my water without even asking me if he could when I was already at 7cm and progressing well, and so when I was labouring on my hands and knees, every time I had a contraction, water gushed EVERYWHERE (I figure these sorts of details won’t faze you, haha). So that kind of annoyed me too. And then Felix came out with like 2 pushes, so they weren’t able to do anything to prevent tearing. All this to say, I really and truly would have appreciated your lessons if you didn’t live more than half a continent away… But now I am much more knowledgeable (I hope), and have done a lot more reading and so hopefully number 3 will go even better than the first two. 🙂

  3. If you need anything–videos, books, workbooks, etc. let me know and I’ll let you borrow whatever I have. I am not teaching at the moment and would be happy to ship anything out to you that might be of help.

    So happy for you!

    • Daja, I just heard of a book called The Christian Childbirth Handbook. Have you read it? Do you own it? What do you think of it, if you are familiar with it?

      • No, sorry! I don’t have it and am not familiar with it. 😦

        I HOPE it’s good, because there is a need, I think, for a GOOD pregnancy and childbirth book for Christian women. If you get it I’d love to hear your review!

  4. Yes!! May God bless your teaching– and continue to give you new insights.

Leave a Reply

