Too familiar…

I’m trying to get beyond this, to mature out of it, to learn my lesson, to take it to heart, etc etc etc.  I just had an exchange with a friend, though, who was waiting on me for nearly two weeks to mail something to her.  I really had no good reason not to;  it was a simple matter, but I just didn’t do it.  I remembered at all the wrong times and forgot at the right ones.  And then she e-mailed me, asking a few questions, and I didn’t e-mail her back.  My thoughts were, “I’ll e-mail her to tell her her stuff is in the mail, and that I made the recipe she suggested and and and…” and then a day goes by, and three, and a week, and ten days…  Ugh.

I wrote to her, finally, after her prodding (she shouldn’t have had to prod):

I get stuck sometimes in really what amounts to too much idealism:  I’ll do thus-and-so right after I get all my ducks in a row, which should be ANY MINUTE NOW!  And that “any minute” turns out to be a much too optimistic estimation of my time and abilities, and in the meantime, I’ve left people in the lurch who were waiting on me.

I think that’s a pretty fair assessment of myself, unfortunately.  It has frustrated more than one person in my history, let me sadly assure you.

<sigh>

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Character Development, Friendships. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. oh, are you admitting that you are *human*? it’s all a process…learn from it, don’t beat yourself up too much and have grace for the next person who does the same thing only you are on the receiving end…because that’s likely to happen. Thank you so much for your post! I see myself in it.

  2. Hi, just found your blog by looking for gf granola bars, your recipe looks good.
    I have been scanning around the blog and saw this post and realize that we could be long lost something or others’. I do this too. I have had it done to me. It is never fun either way.
    I have learned to make a list of some things and cross them off by a deadline. My deadline. I am more inclined to keep it if it is mine. It has helped a little. More people are getting notes and replies faster.
    I like the way you talk. You are a train(do this, then this, then that) like me, always trying to get your ducks in a row. Just remember, you are a duck in someone else’s row as well. Whether it is God, your husband, your Mother…..

Leave a Reply

