Small Fiala update

Went to the NMD today for Fiala.  She said that there are 7-8 paths she’s considering pursuing for Fi, but we’ll take it in manageable chunks, rather than all at once.  For now, we are…

  • Going to do Nystatin for yeast overgrowth, internally and topically, for a month, in addition to the no-sugar, apple cider vinegar and probiotic-enhanced more-restricted than ever diet I have Fi on.
  • Still pursuing a possible diabetes diagnosis, though the initial urinalysis showed no glucose dumping.  We’re going to have her undergo some more specialized testing…  She said that Type 1 and a kind I’d never heard of, diabetes insipidus, are still possibilities.
  • We’ll very likely be seeing a pediatric endocrinologist, both for the diabetes issue and for possible hypothyroidism.
  • We’re starting homeopathic graphites up again, which I’d dropped when Fi broke out badly a couple of weeks ago…  I thought it was a possible reaction to the graphites.  It probably isn’t.  You never know….
  • Fiala is going to have some bloodwork done.  Not sure what all that is for…  I’ll have to Google to find out what each test is for.

Other than yeast, absolutely nothing is certain…  we’re just trying to pinpoint and rule things out.  I’m really comfortable with this protocol.  It’s not too invasive, but it feels like it’s on the right track.  Not too little, not too much.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Health, Medical Stuff, The Kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. When my children were young we went on the candida treatment program– gluten free, sugar free, dairy free diet. They were on oral nystatin, probiotics and i began including garlic in our diet. Their immune systems improved.

    Since then I have learned about the value of fish oils in healing the immune system. Our daughter with the most allergies still follows the diet. My oldest daughter has to watch her diet while breastfeeding.

    I hope that the additional tests that are being done for Fiala will give additional guidance for you. Stay strong– the day to day efforts can be tiring but worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

