What I made yesterday

Confession:  If one claims to really detest Walmart, then moves about, oh, 1/3 mile away from a “Super Center”, one might find oneself there, oh, daily.

Seriously.  In my “normal” life, I go to Walmart maybe 3-4 times yearly, and then only for a specific item or two that can’t be found locally anywhere else.  It’s a black hole of plastic and other cheaply-made goods, full of surly employees, and altogether dingy.  I still feel like that.  But, darn it!  It sure is convenient to our our new home.

Speaking of, our new home — for those who didn’t see it on Facebook — is perfect in many regards.  It is a larger house (we moved up from 2111 s.f. to 2380 s.f.) on a much larger property (we moved from a lot size of 7,900 s.f. to 0.37 acres — more than double);  we are 0.9 miles from our church;  we are about 2.5 miles from my mom’s house;  there is an RV gate and a concrete pad where my mother-in-law can park her movable home and stay ALL WINTER, if she’d like (I’d surely like it);  the new home’s location cuts ten-fifteen minutes off of my hubby’s commute;  the house has a pool — which, when the water is finally clear, we will greatly enjoy.  (And, by the way, it is significantly less expensive than the home which we just sold.  So, in the “posh” factor, we’ve moved down.  But in every other regard, we’ve moved up.)

In addition to being 1/3 of a mile from Wally World, we’re about 1/4 mile away from my favorite grocery store, Sprouts.  (A fact that is really unconnected to the rest of this post, except to demonstrate how perfect it is.  My pastor’s wife was helping to clean the house, before we moved in, and she stopped, midway up a flight of stairs.  “You know what I was thinking?  The closest grocery store is Sprouts.  Is that God, or what?  How perfect is that?”  Agreed.  God shows His love, even in the proximity of beloved grocery stores.)

Structurally and mechanically, for a 38-year-old place, the home is in good condition.  The interior needs desperate help, which we are slowly and steadily providing.

One thing that the interior needs is CURTAINS.  Draperies.  Window coverings.  It came with none.  That’s right:  If you drive by our home in the evening, you can see right into our family room, because absolutely nothing is covering those windows.  Not yet, anyway.  I’m working on it.

I made curtains for the bedroom shared by my sons, Wesley and Grant.  I’m not taking any pictures of those yet because I need to add some rings to the top, which droops far too much.  That means taking the curtains back down and sewing 12 more button-holes, and adding rings to them.  I’m just not up for that, yet.

But, yesterday, I made these, with which I am inordinately pleased:

They go over the kitchen sink, which is very inconveniently located in the corner of the kitchen. There is something quite charming about washing dishes and looking out the front windows. Logistically, though, it’s difficult. And the sink basins are perhaps the smallest known to mankind, which really doesn’t work for a family of seven. In the kitchen remodel, the sink will NOT be here.  Hopefully, though, the curtains WILL be, because I love them.  I’m already dreaming of a sea-green, aqua, and chocolate tile backsplash, hoping that such a thing exists.  And light aqua paint for the wall.  In my nearly 17 years as a homeowner, I can safely say that I have never painted a room anywhere close to any shade of blue.

We can easily close them at night. 🙂

Close up of the tie-backs, where you can see that one doesn’t need to sew perfectly straight in order to make cute curtains. Screwed into the window frame is a hook-thingie where one would wind excess string from a Roman shade or something like that. On tie-backs, I sewed elastic loops that fit securely over the hooks. I made a large, fabric-covered button for each of the tie-backs, under which are Velcro closures. So, at night, we just pop open the Velcro and pull the curtain over a bit to close it completely.

I used a kit like this to make the buttons.  I would have preferred the buttons to be metal, but Joann Etc only had the nylon kind:

By the way…  From where did the really lovely, 54″, thickish, blue, green, and chocolate paisley home dec fabric come???

Walmart.

Don’t tell anyone.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 24, 2012, in "New" home remodel, Sewing, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. millennialhomemaker

    Very cute!! I’d love to learn how to make those matching buttons. And, shh, I won’t tell anyone where the fabric came from 🙂

    • Jeanne, it was super-crazy-easy. That kit is the key. You cut out fabric in a circle (cut-out guide on the back of the package) and place it in a rubbery plastic mold. You press down the top part of the button, which makes the fabric bunch around it. Then, you press down the back of the button until it snaps over the top piece. Then, you push the back of the rubbery mold until the button pops out. Voila! It took about five minutes to make the two buttons. It would have taken less time, but after I made my first button, I realized that I probably should have centered my circle of cloth over a particular part in the pattern. So, I pried apart my first button, re-cut the fabric, and made it again.

  2. Love ’em Karen!!! I too have had blue’s recently grow on me and have secret plans to use more in my home. But never before really liked blue when it came to decor. I can’t help it though especially if you mix almost any shade of green with it like your fabric ;). Shhhhh…I too have used the you know who store for fabric. But still like Joann’s w/ coupons :).

    • Cristi, there is some black, lime green, and off-white fabric there in a number of patterns that I really like… made me think of you.

      And, YES, I found an online coupon for Joann yesterday, good for 20% off the entire purchase (sale & clearance included) and I got some clearance fabric and a bunch of other stuff…

Leave a Reply

