Mama’s got a (staple) gun. The mailman. And other tidbits.

  • I love having a mailman.  We are “recovering” from living for the last nearly-13 years in planned subdivisions whose mailboxes were in kiosks, not adjacent to our actual home.  Our mailman’s name is Tom, a slightly grizzled man with a ponytail who appears to be in his late 50s.  My six-year-old, Audrey, and I spent about ten minutes talking with him yesterday.  I found out that he retired from the Air Force in 1996, was stationed at Luke AFB, lives in Goodyear, and has a dim view of mail carriers who are contractors, instead of actual USPS employees.  We talked about me having five children, him having five dogs, me homeschooling, his misconceptions about homeschooling, and a bit about the folks who used to live in our home.  He also noticed straightaway that Audrey is a girly-girl and Fiala is a tomboy.  🙂  At one point, Audrey looked up at him with some confusion and asked, “Who delivers your mail?”  My fifteen-year-old Ethan removed and repainted our mailbox, and he can’t reinstall it until the second coat of glossy black dries… so I guess we’ll be seeing Tom at our door, come mail time.
  • The day before yesterday, I sewed four panels for the two five-foot windows in our family room which faces the street.  I decided to skimp, somewhat, on the fullness of the panels to allow for enough fabric to recover my dining room chairs, too.  That was a good choice, as the dining room chairs were only briefly ivory-colored.  I scrubbed them thoroughly every 3-6 months, but they were perpetually dingy.  Yesterday, after my ten-year-old, Wesley, removed the seats from the eight chairs, I recovered them, staple-gunning the fabric in place.  It makes such a huge difference.
  • Before and after. Quick! We need to have someone over for dinner while the seats still look nice! Seriously. They were previously in such bad condition it gave me pause, thinking about others having to sit on them.

    • While E and W were at their tasks yesterday, my nearly-thirteen-year-old son Grant was assembling a large, 5-shelf storage unit for my spacious (but unshelved) laundry room.  For each job, at some point, each boy needed my assistance, but by and large, they did the projects by themselves.  I keep thinking, “I knew this day would come…  Or, at least, I hoped this day would come!”  I mean… when your children are all small, and the day is spent investing and teaching and correcting and “helpers” are actually a subtraction to the process, it’s hard to envision a day when you can say, “Here.  Do this task,” and they can actually DO it, and accomplish it well.  I am really pleased to have sons who are at an age that they can REALLY help.  They are each making a significant difference in the repair and move-in process in our new home.
    • Lastly is a picture taken by Audrey this morning.  One of the things I love about homeschooling (not that we’re currently in the school year, as yet) is that our mornings are rarely hurried.  Virtually every morning, I spend a good 15-30 minutes “snugging” Fiala, and often, other children drift in and snug for a few minutes, as well.  Fiala is the best cuddler, though.  🙂  She always brings her green blanket, and usually an assortment of “buddies”.  And, yes, she is nearly four years old and still uses a binky.  Don’t judge.

      This morning, Wesley joined us for a bit… He got a bit rambunctious, though, and I had to shoo him away. Only Fiala has mastered the art of snuggling for closeness’ sake. I love every minute of it.

     

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 26, 2012, in "New" home remodel, Motherhood, Parenting, Random Stuff, Sewing, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

