A new-to-me gluten-friendly, family-friendly place to eat!!!
Our family eats out about once every two weeks. We have a slim selection that is gluten-free, stuff everyone will eat, and isn’t too pricey. I got an ad in the mail for a nearby place — Genghis Grill, a Mongolian-style barbecue. The food looked good, so I went on the website.
It was hard to find, but I eventually stumbled on a PDF that, among other things, lists the ingredients for all of their sauces. Three of them (Sweet & Sour; Dragon — which is a sweet & spicy chili-garlic sauce; and Roasted Tomato) are listed as “gluten-friendly” — meaning they have no gluten ingredients. I thought, “Great. But what about the meats? And the veggies?” so I contacted the company.
They called me this morning — a GREAT customer service rep named Jax — turns out she is the Director of Culinary R&D — and she said that the ONLY meat that has gluten is the “Khans Krab” (it’s imitation made from fish and wheat starch — no surprise there). None of their meats, marinades, veggies, etc., have gluten. They don’t use soy sauce (which almost always contains wheat) in any of their marinades, though it is present in their fried rice and in their gluten-containing sauces. She also said that if you let them know that it’s for a “food allergy”, they will clean the grill AND use a clean wok AND even cover your food while it’s cooking with a bowl to limit cross-contamination. In addition, all of their spices are “clean” — 100% spice, no fillers like maltodextrin or starches. Jax said that they take food issues seriously. I really appreciate that. They are very aware of the potential of cross-contamination, so they don’t make the claim of 100% gluten-free, but I REALLY appreciate the efforts they’re making, and you can be sure we’ll be eating there some time in the near future.
So, you could use white or brown rice, ANY protein (minus the “crab”), ANY vegetable, and one of three gluten-friendly sauces. In the limited world of g.f. eating, that’s actually quite a selection.
Additionally, unless I’m missing something, all of the sauces that are gluten-free are also dairy-free.
I think all of this will compel me to ignore the “cutesy” spellings using “Khan” throughout their website and menu.
Do any readers have experience with Genghis Grill?