Allergen-Free Breakfast Cookies (“Oatmeal” Raisin Plus)

From a batch made 25 July 2015.  With kaniwa and chia seed, plus cashews, in place of the sunflower seeds and pepitas.

From a batch made 25 July 2015. With kaniwa and chia seed, plus cashews, in place of the sunflower seeds and pepitas.

“Mom, what’s for breakfast?”

So asked my kids of me, who hadn’t a clue.  I hadn’t gone grocery shopping in nearly two weeks.  We were out of eggs, out of breakfast meat, out of milk (most of us are dairy-free, though), and we’d already had hot cereal the day before.  Hmmm…  I perused the pantry, and came up with an idea.  Breakfast cookies!  I started pulling ingredients, and hoped everything would work together.

Oh, my goodness!  They turned out SO GOOD.  The results taste like glorified oatmeal-raisin cookies.  And, as someone who hasn’t had an oatmeal-raisin cookie in nearly six years, they were so dreamy.  Relatively low in refined sugar, high-fiber, whole-grain, high-protein, filling, soft and chewy, and absolutely delicious.  My kids, as they were eating them, asked me to make them again.  I’m going on a hiking trip in a couple of weeks, and I know I’ll be making these to take along.

Now, anyone who has ever baked gluten-free before knows that it’s tricky.  Make the item dairy-free, too, and it’s super-tricky!  Take out the eggs as well, and you have a recipe that’s in a profoundly delicate balance.  SO!  While a substitution may work here or there, I make no promises for the success of any cookies made with substitutions and/or omissions.  I know there are a lot of ingredients in this recipe, but I’d be really careful about what I’d leave out or add in…

If you’ve never used quinoa flakes before, it’s a good time to start!  They look like mini rolled oats, and are surely what give these cookies their oatmeal-like appeal.

Edited 07/15/09 and 08/29/12 with a few ingredient and instruction improvements.

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Nut-Free Breakfast Cookies

Makes 12 very large cookies

Preheat oven to 350° F.  Line an insulated cookie sheet with either parchment or Reynold’s Non-Stick Foil.  (If you don’t have an insulated cookie sheet, take two same-sized cookie sheets that nest together, and between them, lay some heavy-duty aluminum foil that has been crumpled and partially smoothed out.  This will give you an air gap between the two cookie sheets.)

In a large bowl, mix the following ingredients with a whisk:

With a wooden spoon, stir in:

  • ½ cup quinoa flakes (or 1/4 cup quinoa flour, though that defeats the “oatmeal” appearance and texture)
  • ½ cup puffed millet
  • ½ cup flaked or dessicated coconut, sweetened or unsweetened
  • ¼ cup sunflower kernels, either raw or roasted
  • ¼ cup pumpkin seed kernels — “pepitas,” either raw or roasted  (or a total of ½ cup of other nuts and/or seeds)

In a small bowl, or glass 2-cup measure, whisk together the following ingredients:

  • ½ cup honey
  • ½ cup canola oil (or other cooking oil)
  • ½ cup rice milk (or other milk)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • Optional:  ½ cup dark brown sugar OR 2 tsp dark molasses

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.  This will make a very stiff dough.

Then, with a heavy wooden spoon, and a healthy bicep, OR, using the dough hook on your stand mixer, mix in:

  • ½ cup raisins
  • ½ cup sweetened, dried cranberries (or, use 1 cup total other small or chopped, dried fruit)

Next, either refrigerate the dough several hours until cold, OR, if you’re impatient like me, oil your hands.  Make 12 large balls out of the dough — each about ¼ cup of dough — and place on your cookie sheet.  Then, grease the bottom of a large cup, and dip the cup into a small bowl of sugar.  With the sugared cup bottom, flatten each cookie so that each cookie is approximately 3 to 3 ½ inches wide and ½ inch thick.  Re-dip the cup in sugar for each cookie.  OR simply flatten each ball of dough with the palm of your hand.

Bake for about 22-24 minutes at 350° F, or until the edges of the cookies are golden.  Cool on racks, or simply remove the parchment/foil from the pan with the cookies still on them and cool on countertop.  (I normally cool my cookies the way my mother and grandmother did — on cut-open brown paper bags spread on the countertop.  However, these cookies will stick to brown paper bags, due to their honey content.)

Serve warm from the oven, or, cool and wrap individually with plastic wrap, and refrigerate or freeze for an on-the-go breakfast.  I have also taken these cookies camping, and they have kept for a week with no refrigeration or loss of taste or texture.

Enjoy!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 9, 2008, in Allergies, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GF Recipes, GFCF, GFCF Recipes, gluten-free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Wow, these sound amazing, Karen! And I’d never seen quinoa flakes before. I’ll have to keep an eye out for them and give these a try — thanks!

  2. since we are gfcfef i have everything above except the rice protien powder. what consistency is it? i might just whirl some brown rice flour in the blender???

  3. Amy ~ Rice protein powder is very fine powder, sort of like a starch, but it’s not starchy, if that makes sense. I’m thinking that a fine, high-protein flour would work in its place, like quinoa or amaranth. I hope that helps!

  4. another question….puffed millet? what is that like? i was just at the health food store and picked up some rice protien because i thought…gee i can probably use this in other places to boost protien…but they need internet access because I didn’t have the recipe w/ me and I didn’t get the millet.

    also- what else DO you use the rice protein for?

    looking forward to making these as snack bars soon.

  5. Amy ~ Puffed millet is a lot like puffed rice, but smaller, and circular in shape. You could sub puffed rice, or probably just leave it out altogether…. I use rice protein every week to 10 days when I make a batch of rice milk. I also frequently put 2 Tbsp or 1/4 cup in breakfast breads, like pancakes and muffins, particularly when we aren’t having any other protein that meal. Since a lot of g.f. flours are low-protein, sometimes I feel like something made from, basically, *just* flour isn’t enough nutrition.

    Oh, also! I’ve made these twice more since I posted the recipe, and I used rice bran the 2nd & 3rd times, and amended the recipe above. Honestly, I can’t remember if I used rice bran the first time, when I posted the recipe, so I don’t know how well it’ll work w/o it. Hopefully, you have rice bran!

  6. thanks. was thinking of using koala crips for a bit of a chocolate flavor actually. no- i don’t have rice bran LOL! but i am going to try and hit a store to pick up before I make these. I need to pick up some more dried fruit too and so few places make it sulfite free… we don’t do a lot of dried fruits because of the yeastie beasties that we have but i thought this would be a good way to use just a bit of it. thanks again! i think DS will really like these- me too! looking for a replacement for our krispy bars!

  7. Intriguing! I would not have thought of trying quinoa for this, but I’ll give it a shot…GF breakfasts are a sad business, when you also don’t eat eggs (and nuts and dairy, etc etc).

  8. THESE DO sound really good! I’ve got some quinoa flakes stashed away somewhere that really need to be used too! Thanks for the great recipe! I might just try them this weekend!!

  9. Karen, you weren’t kidding! THESE ARE GREAT!!! I used all my quinoa flakes for this, so I definitely have to buy more just so I can make this recipe again! Just to let you know, I didn’t have any rice protein powder so I used some whey protein powder (I know it isn’t casein free, but I needed to use it!) Worked great!!

  10. i finally made these! yum:0 i mixed up all the dry and then split it in half…mixed up half the wet to make half a batch. there are just 2 of us that eat this..and i have found that gf just doesn’t cut it when it’s old. thanks for the recipe!

  11. Amy ~ I’m glad you liked them! I hope that yours keeps as well as mine do. Last time I made them, I wrapped them individually in plastic wrap. They tasted great 4 days later… but that’s all the longer they lasted.

  12. Hi, These sound really good. I have the quinoa flakes but not some of the other ingredients. Shopping day is tomorrow! By the way, we just started our dd on the gluten free diet so thanks for this recipe.
    Margarete

  13. Margarete ~ I hope you’re able to find all the ingredients, and that you like them!! Many baked g.f. items lose their fresh taste & texture the day after they’re baked, but these last a long time, up to a week, and still taste great!!

  14. I am very interested in finding something like this that I can use. I am however very new at all this GFCF stuff and Baking for me has been more miss than hit. Basically I have found a great chocolate chip pancake recipe and thats about it.
    If I would try this recipe, I would need to sub out the rice and coconut. Any idea how or what I can sub those items with?
    Thanks for your help…

  15. Karen ~ What with the brown rice flour, rice bran, and rice protein powder, rice is pretty much a staple. No promises for results, but try this: Sorghum flour in lieu of brown rice flour, flaxseed meal ILO rice bran, and some other kind of “safe” protein powder ILO rice bran protein — I have seen pea protein powder, egg protein powder, soy protein powder, all sorts of other proteins. About the coconut: I would try upping your flour by 1/4 cup ILO the coconut flour, and you could just leave out the flaked coconut. Or, maybe substitute almond meal, if you can have nuts.

    I hope that helps!!

  16. Thank you so much! These are a bit spendy per cookie, but so worth it! I keep all the ingredients on hand now–all the time so we can have these whenever. I make them for a ballet lesson treat for my girls, but hide them–literally–so that my husband won’t eat them all before we need them.

    I am allergic to all refined sugar, and even sucanat. . .I sub either 1/2 molasses and 1/2 splenda for the brown sugar, or almond meal or even plain natural peanut butter in that spot–all work fine. I’ve also used pumpkin seeds instead of sunflower seeds or chocolate chips and pecans.

    This is a no lose recipe–I make it one to two times a week and it’s alway excellent! Blessings on you!

  17. I am looking forward to these. My little one has stopped eating everything but peas, hot dogs and her rice milk. So I plan to start making her milk and trying these in hopes she will eat SOMETHING! I am a little concerned about the brown sugar, I don’t really give her any sugar. I am a horrible baker so I won’t tweak it in fear of messing up a batch.

  18. Hi again, it’s me! You are the ONLY person I have found so far that actually has recipies for GFDFEEF…quick question for you: where do you shop? Do you go to Whole Foods, Sprouts, Trader Joes (all the above, some of the above?). I have a few different types of flours but not all listed for this recipe…I have a lot of learning to do. Question about Xanthan gum: I found it at Sprouts but the can was HUGE and pricey. Do you know where you can get a smaller can for less? I know I need to stock my pantry (I’m a big baker, just transferring and learning how to be GFDFEF) but I’m trying to do it the most economical way. Thanks for being a resource and for sharing! Brandie

    • About xanthan gum, you can find it online for cheaper, but then you pay for shipping, so unless you’re buying a LOT, it’s often not worth it. I’ve found xanthan gum for cheaper (like $10 instead of $12) at Fry’s in their natural foods section. Still, that 8 oz pouch is a pretty common size. I’ve never seen it in a can!

      The quinoa flakes used to be carried at Bashas’, but I haven’t seen them there lately! I’ve been meaning to buy a case off of Amazon, but I haven’t done that yet.

      I regularly shop at Fry’s, Bashas’, an Asian market called Asiana (it’s on 51st Ave & Union Hills — Lee Lee on 75th Ave & Cactus is closer to you — I don’t know if there’s one closer than that), Trader Joe’s, Sprouts, and Costco. I occasionally go to Whole Foods, but there’s not one near me, so I wait until I’m in the neighborhood. I don’t go to all the stores every week — usually 2-3 stores per week.

      At the Asian market, you can get white rice flour, sweet rice flour (like the pastry flour of GF baking), potato starch, tapioca starch, all sorts of rice noodles, plus flours used in Indian cooking like jawar/juwar (sorghum), bajri (millet), gram/besan (garbanzo/chickpea flour), and other bean flours (there is a LOT of bean flour used in Indian cooking — it can get confusing with all the various languages, but generally anything “daal” is bean flour, but you have to check ingredients, because sometimes bean flours are mixed with other things).

  19. These were so good!!!! I made these for my son who is gluten, dairy and egg free. He loved them. Even my company couldn’t get enough of these. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe Karen!

  20. Wow, these are VERY good! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I also made a chocolate version with 1/4 cup cocoa powder, white sugar, no cinnamon, no dried fruit, and 3/4 cup vegan chocolate chips. They were very tasty, too. We are bringing these on an upcoming family vacation! Thanks again!!

  1. Pingback: Gluten free snack, breakfast & lunch ideas « Only Sometimes Clever

  2. Pingback: GFCF Snack, Breakfast, and Lunch Ideas « Only Sometimes Clever

  3. Pingback: At the risk of tooting my own horn… « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a comment